Favorite Tea

When cold weather arrives, I drink a lot more tea.  I do drink tea when it’s warmer outside, too, but I gravitate more toward hot drinks when the temperatures dip below 55.

Some teas are nicer when it’s warm out.  I like light, fruity tea in the spring and summer.  But when the leaves turn and I consider pulling on my long underwear, I like richer teas with warmer flavors.

This Lemon Ginger tea by Stash has an almost spicy warmth to it.  The ginger causes a slight burn in the back of the throat.  I like this one especially when I’m starting to feel a little under the weather, but it’s nice any time I want something that’s not too heavy but plenty warm.  It is really good with some honey in it.

The Meijer Gold Red Tea is darker and richer.  It doesn’t have a heavy taste at all, but still feels almost like it’s coating my tummy with a nice warm blanket.

Thanksgiving and Christmas make me think about cranberries, and this year I really discovered how much I really love cranberries.  This Trader Joe’s tea combines cranberries with green tea.

“Candy Cane Lane” from Celestial Seasonings pairs green tea with peppermint.  I didn’t think I’d like it.  I’ve not been a huge fan of green tea over the years, and while I’ve come to appreciate it, I didn’t think I’d like it with peppermint.  I was very wrong!  This tea is great with a little bit of sugar.  Perfect for drinking while watching Christmas specials on TV.

This cinnamon tea from Harney & Sons is the heaviest of the teas I’ve got today.  It’s a loose leaf tea, and you actually have to be careful not to get too much in your tea ball, or the taste will be overwhelming.  It’s a black tea with plenty of cinnamon.  It’s so dark it almost looks like black coffee.  Because this one is so rich and warm, it’s the one I choose on the coldest days, before the fire in the wood stove has heated up the house.

Do you have any favorite teas for fall and winter?  Please share!  I’m always looking for good, new flavors in my cup.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. riTa
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 09:29:59

    Last evening I enjoyed a cup of Red Chai tea.

  2. merry
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 09:53:24

    Here’s my favorite: http://shop.goodearth.com/Good-Earth-Original-Sweet-and-Spicy-Herbal-Tea–Caffeine-Free/p/GET-304012&c=GoodEarth@OriginalTeas. I’ve found it at a couple Walmart stores and also at Strawberry Fields, a local natural foods store. I leave the teabag in the whole time I’m drinking it, and it gets more spicy than sweet. But I love it. Love, love, love it. Think I’ll go make some when I finish my cup of coffee.

  3. Amy
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 11:54:10

    Revolution Sweet ginger peach tea. Awesome with a little milk and sugar.

    http://www.amazon.com/Revolution-Tea-Ginger-16-Count-Teabags/dp/B000E8Y5CM

    You can get it lots of places, you don’t have to order it from Amazon. I know I found it at Kroger when we lived in Indiana.

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Nov 18, 2010 @ 13:29:36

      You put ginger in something, and I’m pretty much automatically a fan.

  4. stephan
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 19:42:38

    LapSang Soushong

  5. Blythe
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 14:20:54

    I love tea, too. One of my favorites is “Jasmin Mandarin” from Lupicia. They describe it on their website as “Chinese green tea was scented with jasmine flowers which have sweet aroma like spring breeze.” 🙂
    http://www.lupiciausa.com/product_p/12408201.htm

    Jasmine green is great hot or cold, in summer or winter, with tapioca pearls or without, with milk or without. Any which way. The scent is a nostalgic smell for me…you know, a smell that just takes you back to some happy place, even if you can’t remember why you were happy…

    We have a Lupicia tea store in our mall, and it’s so fun to go there and smell all of the teas. It’s like a candy store. They display all of their teas in little tin cans, and you can go around the store sniffing all of the flavors. They’ll even make you a sample of anything you want to try.

    Oh, and another favorite tea of mine is Indian chai. Not the over-sweetened kind from the supermarket, but the kind you get at the Indian restaurants or make at home. (I still make the instant chai from the recipe that you and Chef once gave us!)

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Nov 23, 2010 @ 14:33:54

      I’m glad you are enjoying the instant chai! We make chai almost every week for Monday Dinner. It’s a big hit. I love it.

