Hasta la Vista, Visa!

For the last couple of months, we’d been waiting on a payment for some sculptures Chef did back in August.  Large sculptures, which amounted to a large payment that we have been waiting and waiting and waiting for.

Finally, on Saturday, after at least three phone calls to the client over the last month, the payment came in.  Hooray!  I knew that would make the business bank balance much more comfortable.

But on Sunday, I got an even better surprise: Chef told me that this payment was enough so that he was able to send the LAST payment to Visa.  So that debt is GONE!

I did a little dance, right there in the front yard.

I’m not sure what the neighbors thought.

Chef told me one of the main reasons he likes paying off debt is because each time we get rid of one, I do a little dance.  He claimed that once all the debt was paid off, he was going to incur more debt and then pay it off again, just to keep watching my little dances.  I told him, “No way, Bucko!”

Or something like that.

I promised him I’d do little dances for other things — like maxing out our IRAs each year, or saving enough for a big purchase.  He seemed agreeable with that.

We have just four more debts (aside from our mortgage) to pay off: three credit cards and our Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC.)  The next victim is our WorldPerks Visa.  (If you ask me, the only “perks” are for Visa, who has been getting all our money!)

We’re getting closer and closer.  And I’m so excited!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 13:32:30

    Congratulations – that must feel SO good!! 🙂

  2. riTa
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 19:55:11

    Great news and fun post!
    Fun to see you using Spanish!
    Did you really mean “Until we see you again, Visa!”? (literally “Until the sight”) Or, maybe when people say that they are hoping never to meet again? Hmmmm…

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Nov 15, 2010 @ 14:47:50

      Um, no. I hope never to see Visa again. But it had a nice ring, didn’t it?

  3. Amy
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 21:56:17

    I want to know if you plan to post a video on youtube of your dance.

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Nov 15, 2010 @ 14:57:03

      I think I’ll save that until we’re completely debt free!

  4. Lynn Hoyt
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 23:10:24

    I’m rooting for you. Keep it up!!! It is a great stress-reliever to get it down to just the house payment, and I’m looking forward to getting that one out of the way in about 7 years or less.

    Love,

    Uncle Lynn

  5. Heidi
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 17:18:14

    CONGRATS to both of you! what perseverence and discipline–how wonderful to see it finally “pay” off! 🙂 Keep running the race (speaking of, prayers for your feet)!

