Crock Pot Roast Sticky Chicken

It’s the time of year when I like to pull out my crock pot more often.  I’m not sure why I do this more in the fall and winter.  It seems that it would make more sense in the summer because the crock pot does not heat up the house like the oven or the stovetop does.  Maybe it’s because I’m thinking of soups and comfort food, and those things cook so well in the crock pot.

Also, Chef has started to have soccer games on Friday nights.  His games start at 6:00, so we don’t want to eat before (it’s too early, plus he doesn’t want to play on a full stomach), and afterward we’re both ravenous and tired and don’t want to cook.  The solution?  The crock pot, of course!

Today I’m sharing one of our favorite crock pot recipes.  Chef loves it, and so do all our Monday Meal friends.  I’m a fan, too.

Crock Pot Roast Sticky Chicken

4 tsp salt
2 tsp paprika
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp white pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 large roasting chicken
1 cup chopped onion

In a small bowl, thoroughly combine all spices. Remove giblets from chicken, clean cavity well and pat dry with paper towels. Rub spice mixture into chicken, both inside and out, making sure it is evenly distributed and down deep into the skin. Place in a re-sealable plastic bag, seal, and refrigerate overnight* When ready to cook, put onions into cavity and put the bird into the Crock Pot (do not add any liquid). As the cooking process goes on, it will produce its own juices. Cook on low for 8-10 hours and it will be falling off the bone.

*The only time I do the overnight thing is if I know I’m not going to have time in the morning to get it done.  Sometimes I pre-make big batches of the rub, so it’s easy to just prepare in the morning and stick the chicken in the crock pot.  But if I don’t have any pre-made or if I know I won’t have time in the morning, I’ll do it the night before.  I don’t think it makes a big difference in flavor, though.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Thelma
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 13:38:20

    I have this in the crockpot for dinner tonight! YUMMY!

  2. Rachel
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 19:39:02

    I have this on my list to try. 🙂

