Bunions: A Comparison and an Update

I’m nine weeks post-op.

The foot is looking better.  There’s still a little swelling, so I still ice it at least five nights a week.  The long incision is still a bit tender, but the short incision doesn’t bother me at all.  I can usually walk without a limp, but sometimes the foot is sore and I get my swagger back a little bit.  I can walk the dogs about a mile before I get too sore and tired.

I had noticed that there was a little bump on the longer incision.  It looked a little like a pimple.  I tried to scratch or rub it off, but that didn’t work.  I went to see my family doctor today and I asked her about it.  “It’s part of the stitch,” she said.

“But they stapled it,” I replied.

“They probably stitched it on the inside,” she explained.  So a little piece of the stitch is sticking out of the incision.  “Does it hurt?” she asked.

I told her it didn’t hurt, it’s just a little bit annoying.

She said, “Well, it’s not infected, so if it doesn’t hurt, I’d just leave it alone.  It’s such a short piece that taking it out would be more trouble than it’s worth.”

I forgot to ask her if it would be there forever.  I’ll have to ask the surgeon when I return to see him on November 12.

Meanwhile, I called to try to get my next surgery scheduled.  I’m hoping for December 10 because that would fit best with my work schedule.  This time, instead of going to work the Monday after surgery, I’m planning to take Monday and Tuesday off, and to work shortened hours the rest of the week.  It was a little ridiculous going to work three days after surgery.  I don’t really want to do that again.

And if I have surgery December 10, then by February 11 I’ll be with the left foot where I am today with the right foot.  February seems kind of far away, but the last nine weeks have gone pretty fast.  I just hope that those nine weeks will pass equally as quickly.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. riTa
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 18:16:05

    What a difference!
    Hope the finished result feels as good as it looks.

