Garden Surprises

I’m continually surprised by our garden.  I just kept thinking that because we started so late and because we’ve not gotten much rain, that we wouldn’t have much produce at all.

But I came home the other day to find a whole basket full of green beans on the kitchen counter!

I mixed half of them into fried rice that I made one evening, and we at the other half as a side dish the next night.  Yum.

The lettuce has been doing quite well, also.  We planted two kinds: Black Seeded Simpson and Buttercrunch.  I think we prefer the Buttercrunch because it’s heartier, and we’ll probably plant more of that next year.

Since it was going to frost the other night, we knew we needed to cover some things and bring other items inside.  So we’ve got a bowl full of green tomatoes, too.

There are a couple of tomatoes big enough to make Fried Green Tomatoes, I think.  Chef suggested making a green tomato salsa with the little ones.

Plus, Chef pointed out to me that we’ve got some little broccolis growing, and the turnips look like they are doing very well.  So maybe I was wrong when I said that we didn’t save any money on our groceries this year.  We’re really getting a lot more produce than I thought.

And that extra money?  Toward the debt, of course.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. riTa
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 13:38:18

    The surprise factor is one of the great aspects of having a garden, on top of enjoying FRESH produce.

  2. Michelle
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 18:58:31

    We were quite surprised that our broccoli is now producing as well! I think it’s the return of the cool weather.

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Oct 27, 2010 @ 08:39:10

      I really thought that by October, the garden would be done. How wrong I was!

    • stephan
      Oct 28, 2010 @ 13:37:14

      Michelle, our cole crops were blighted and pitiful-looking in August-September but now are recovering with a vengeance. I’d heard they could take temps down to 20 degrees and still be fine so i’m expecting another 15 or 20 days of growth yet—maybe more?…

  3. Ms Bon
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 13:22:54

    I too had a bad harvest because of Mother Nature, I live in Eastern Ohio…………Garden finally coming alive! My Chickens love all the new growth!………….next year God willing……….did can/freeze over 100 qts!

  4. Amy
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 13:44:36

    I don’t know anything about gardening, but I can tell you the restaurant down the street has the best burger I’ve ever had – served with goat cheese and a fried green tomato mmmm,mmmmm!

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Nov 01, 2010 @ 12:32:51

      Hmm, interesting! I’ll tuck this away in the back of my head for next summer!

