Creamy Pasta with Crabmeat

Last week, a very unusual thing happened: we were given free shrimp and crabmeat.

I know, crazy weird, huh?  So for a few nights, we munched on shrimp and crab.  But finally, I decided that the big bowl of crab legs was taking up too much room in the fridge.  And it was making the whole refrigerator smell like crab.

Not that that’s a bad thing.  If you’re in the mood for crab, that is.

So I decided to extract all that meat from the shells and make something yummy.

First, I put a pot of water on to boil so that I could cook some thin spaghetti.

Then, I sauteed about two cups of sliced fresh mushrooms.

I added some frozen peas.

Then the crab meat.  I probably had a cup and a half to two cups.

Then I tossed in the cooked spaghetti.

Added some heavy cream (about a pint.)

And some egg to thicken.  We had egg yolks leftover from when Chef made meringue on Monday, so we just used the yolks.  Whole eggs are fine, too.

The sauce began to thicken, and Chef added salt and pepper.

Finally, it was ready.

I’m sure this would work with imitation crab, as well, if you don’t want to spend the money on crabmeat, and you don’t have anywhere to get it for free.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen, the Small Town Runner
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 12:04:00

    You could also use grilled or sauteed strips of chicken. Or shrimp, or probably even tuna. Don’t let me force you into eating crab.

    • jana
      Oct 14, 2010 @ 18:29:54

      Frankly, I think it would be delicious without any meat at all. I usually stop step 4: the idea of adding cream and/or egg never really crossed my mind. Many thanks for inspiration.

      • Karen, the Small Town Runner
        Oct 15, 2010 @ 12:42:34

        You’re absolutely right — meat-free would be good, too. The cream and eggs make it very filling and decadent! Without them, it would be a lighter meal, but when you want some comfort food, the creaminess is wonderful. And adding cheese (like fresh mozzarella) makes it even creamier.

  2. riTa
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 08:55:34

    I loved the photographic build-up. Looks very yummy!

