It’s Peanut Butter Jelly Time!

Last weekend, I got a hankering to do some baking.  I didn’t have a specific plan of what to bake, and we didn’t have a vast supply of ingredients to choose from, so I decided to just browse my cookbooks and see what looked good.

I came across a recipe for Peanut Butter and Jelly Turnovers.  Hmmm, I thought.  I have all the ingredients for that!

These little snacks are so easy, and they are tasty, too.

Just make your favorite sweet roll dough and let it rise.  Punch it down, roll it out into a rectangle, and then cut the dough into squares.  My recipe said to cut the dough into 20 squares, but I’m geometrically challenged, so I ended up with 16 pieces.  (I seriously could not figure out an easy way to cut my rectangle into 20 equal pieces.)  Some were squares, some were rectangles, and some were kind of amorphous forms reminiscent of triangles.  For ease of communication, though, I’ll call them squares.  On average, they were probably four inches square.

I had mixed together 1/3 cup creamy peanut butter and 1/3 strawberry jelly.  I then dropped about a teaspoon (maybe a little more) onto each square, and folded the dough over, sealing the edges with the tines of a fork.  I put them onto greased pans, covered them, and let them rise for about 30 minutes.  I made sure the edges were pinched shut, and then I put the pans in the oven for 15 minutes on 350 F.

Oh, these were yummy, especially while warm.  The peanut butter was nice and gooey, and the bread was sweet and soft.  While they sort of reminded me of Pop-Tarts, they were about six billion times better than those dry, crusty postcards of radioactive sugar.

And these little snacks have such possibilities.  You could forgo the peanut butter and just use jelly.  Or use cream cheese and jelly.  Or just cream cheese.  Or make them for breakfast and fill them with scrambled eggs, sausage, and shredded cheddar.  My goodness, I’m making myself hungry just thinking about the potential here!  I might have to make these little delights every single week!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 12:06:21

    These sound yummy even though I’m allergic to peanut butter. 😉 I like to make pumpkin turnovers this time of year, too!

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Oct 12, 2010 @ 12:27:34

      Mmmm, pumpkin sounds good, too. For next time, I’m thinking a cream cheese filling.

  2. riTa
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 14:36:58

    Great ideas! They look wonderful!
    I rarely or never bake anything that needs to rise, but I do love the fragrance and flavor of yeast breads.

  3. Nikki Jasper
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 15:39:52

    Now I’m even hungrier than I already was…. they look lovely!

