He’s Got Me Right Where He Wants Me

As you probably know by now, I wrote a book.  The reason I was able to write this book is because Chef and I can’t have children.

I was emailing back and forth with someone who had read the book, and she said something like, “I really like your book.  I just wish you didn’t have to have the experience that led you to write it.”

And I replied, “You know, I think God has us exactly where he wants us.”

About a week ago, my friend Thelma wrote a post about the emotions that come with being infertile, even when you think you’ve made peace with being infertile.  You can read her thoughts here.  It was really interesting for me to read her post because the very day she posted it, I had been having the very same feelings.  Well, not so much about the donuts, but about everything else.

Chef and I, like Thelma and Len, consider ourselves happy and content where we are, which is a family of two people.  (I’d like to insert here a pet peeve I have: When couples decide to start trying to have a baby, they always say they are “starting a family.”  Well, Chef and I are a family.  Just because there are only two of us, and just because we don’t have children, does not mean we are not a family.  Okay, I’m done with my rant.)

Some days are still hard, even though I can state truthfully that 99% of the time, I’m completely content with where we are.  But some days, I think “If we had children, we wouldn’t have to do X.”  Or “If we had children, we’d be able to do Y.”  And just last Friday as I watched Chef’s soccer game alongside the other players’ wives, I thought that if we had children, maybe I wouldn’t feel so out of place in what felt very much like The Mommy Club.

At the same time, I am convinced that God has us exactly where he wants us.

Chef and I have a teenager living with us while she finishes her senior year of high school.  It’s a long story about how this all came about, but the bottom line is that if we had children, we would not be able to minister to her in this way.  In fact, while we were praying about whether to invite her to live in our home, Esther 4:14 kept coming to mind, which reads, “For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance will arise for the Jews from another place and you and your father’s house will perish. And who knows whether you have not attained royalty for such a time as this?” The phrase “for such a time as this” just kept continually rolling through my head.  And I think that God was telling me that one reason we have not been able to have children is so that we could step into this ministry opportunity.  It’s not always easy or fun to live with an emotional teenager whom we did not raise from birth, but it is where we are supposed to be right now.  I’m certain that if we had children, we would not even have entertained the thought of her living with us.

This is not the path I would have chosen.  But it doesn’t seem very often that God chooses the things we would have chosen.

Perhaps after this time of ministry is over, God will miraculously allow me to get pregnant.  (I very seriously doubt that.)  But whether he does cause that to happen or not, I’m happy knowing that God has us on a particular path for a particular reason, even if I don’t know that reason now.

I look forward to Heaven when I can see the whole picture.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. merry
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 10:04:06

    Thanks for sharing. Great thoughts.

  2. riTa
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 10:48:08

    Last night in Bible Study we were discussing the ‘rest’ God has for us. He invites and urges to make every effort to enter into that rest. It came to me that accepting our lot, being content with our place and God-given purpose, is key to entering that rest.
    I recently listened to Wendell Berry’s The Memory of Old Jack. I loved it. Such amazing character development, such poetic descriptions and what a depth of insight into human nature. One big lesson I took away from it was the peace Jack found after recognizing/accepting his place, his part, who and how God made him.
    That path is not at all dull! Ephesians 2:10–many surprises await us!

  3. Robyn
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 14:02:46

    He can definitely do all things! And you are right, we have to accept our God-given purpose.

  4. Andrea Mann
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 19:51:14

    Little behind in my reading, but I seemed to read on the perfect day. Rough days are always nice when accompanied by reading something encouraging.

    Andrea

