Questions That Need Answers

It’s a week until I go back to the doctor for another post-op check on my foot.  I’m eager to go, because I’ve got a lot of questions.

1. Did the doctor take a piece of bone out of the first metatarsal?  I don’t know how he could have straightened the bone if he didn’t, but I’m not sure.  If he did take a piece out, how big was it?

2. Am I going to regain flexibility in my big toe?  I can bend all my other toes, but I can’t really bend that one right now.  If I won’t regain flexibility, how is that going to affect walking and running?  If I am going to regain it, is it strange that I haven’t yet?  When can I expect to be able to bend it?

3. Is there something I can use to reduce the appearance of the scar?  I mean, I am used to not having pretty feet, and I didn’t have the surgery to get pretty feet.  But hey, if I can have pretty feet as a side effect, I’ll take them.  And if I can do something cheap and easy to minimize the scar, I’ll do it.

4. What activities can I do when?  I know I can’t run for a long time, but when can I bike or use the elliptical machine?

5. When can we schedule the next surgery?  (I need to know by what point I need to have my Christmas shopping finished!)

6. Did Adam and Eve have belly buttons?  Okay, I guess the foot surgeon might not know the answer to that one.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dolores
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 16:19:15

    Perhaps Joshua H. can answer that last question. I can’t remember the name of the book but I gave him one when he was baptized, and confirmed on Easter last year. I remember one of the questions in the book was: “Did Adam and Eve have belly buttons?”

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Oct 04, 2010 @ 12:01:11

      Well, I have an opinion… but in the grand scheme of things it doesn’t really matter. As my pastor says, “I wouldn’t split the church over it.”

  2. riTa
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 21:43:15

    Awaiting answers with you.

  3. Trackback: Transitioning « Small Town Runner
