Fitness on One Leg

I probably don’t have to tell you that I’ve really missed running lately.  Although the weather this week is very warm again, we’ve had some really beautiful days that would have been perfect for a nice run.  When I drive to or from work and I see runners, I admit to some envy.  I want to be out there, too.  But I will have to wait until spring.

In the meantime, I’m working on staying fit as much as I can.  It’s certainly not easy.  No running, or even walking.  No cycling.  Nothing that requires weight on the right foot.  However, Pilates does not require weight on the feet!  I was so happy to get back into the YMCA on Saturday and participate in my Pilates class again.  The teacher was tough, and it was exactly what I wanted and needed.  Lots of work on the abs, back, and hips.  Finally, my right leg got back to work!  I fear that it’s becoming puny in comparison to my left leg, but since shorts weather has passed for the most part, I’ll just keep those gams covered until they are of equal size again.

I had originally anticipated that the use of crutches would beef up my noodle arms.  I don’t think that has actually occurred.  In my opinion, my arms look and feel pretty much the same as they always have.  I’ve considered getting out the weights in order to work those arms a little more (because if I can’t work my legs, maybe I should work my arms, right?) but then I realized that my arms are already getting tired of carrying me around every day, and if I lifted weights, those upper appendages might just revolt and refuse to do anything at all.  And since what little mobility I have right now is important to me, I decided to forgo the weights.

Every now and then, I like to remind my right leg that it still knows how to move around and do work.  I’ve been known to suddenly start moving my leg around as I’m sitting in a chair, just to prove that I can still do it.  I’m able to put more weight on my right heel and the outside of the right foot now, so sometimes I hobble around, a few yards at a time, without my crutches, just to prove that I can.  (And to give my arms a break.  And so that I can actually carry something from one spot to another.)

In two weeks and three days (not that I’m counting), I anticipate that the doctor will release me to full weight on my right foot.  I am very excited for that day.  No running, of course, but maybe some cycling?  Perhaps the elliptical machine at the Y?  A walk at the park?  It will seem like heaven.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. riTa
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 13:05:36

    Noodle arms? I hadn’t noticed.

  2. riTa
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 13:06:18

    Oh! and I like the new look.

  3. Talley Mac
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 22:29:39

    Lovin’ the new blog look!! Rockin’ sister!

    T

