Surgery Scheduled

My first bunion surgery (for my left foot) is scheduled for next Friday, August 27.   I don’t have a specific time yet; I have to call the day before to get the time.  But it will be sometime between noon and 4pm.

I will have my leg numbed and will be under light sedation.  I’ll have a surgical boot or a post-op shoe and will be able to put weight only on my heel and the outside of my foot for about 4-6 weeks.  I’ll use crutches just to be sure I’m balanced and steady until I’m comfortable with the unusual weight bearing; the doctor (Dr. Herbst) said that most people — especially young people (and he included me in that category!  Yeehaw!) are able to ditch the crutches within a couple of weeks.  At 4-6 weeks they’ll do an x-ray and probably give me leave for full weight-bearing and transitioning to regular shoes.  I will still have some pain, stiffness, and swelling for 2-3 months.  I will be back to full activities at 14-16 weeks… at which time I’ll have the other foot done! 

Dr. Herbst said it’s very unlikely I’ll need formal physical therapy.  He’ll give me some exercises to do at home.  Risk of recurrence with surgery (meaning risk that I’d have to have it done again at some point) is 5%.

So I’ll have the surgery on Friday afternoon, rest on Saturday and Sunday, and I’ll just play Monday by ear to see if I can go back to work. I might go for a couple of hours and go home, or might stay home altogether.  If I’m able, I’ll work all day, but I don’t know yet what to expect.  He said some patients think, “Yeah, that hurts,” and other people feel it’s the worst pain ever.  (Actually, his words were “Some say it’s worse than childbirth,” but since I don’t have that particular point of reference, “worse than childbirth” doesn’t mean much to me.)  The doctor will write me a prescription for pain medication, which I’m hoping I won’t need.  When I broke my hand a few years ago, I didn’t need any prescription medication.  But that time I only cracked a few bones.  This time he’ll be cutting all the way through.

I’ll keep you updated on my surgery and recovery.  Maybe you’ll find it interesting.  Hopefully you won’t pass out.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Talley Mac
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 20:51:42

    Will def be praying for you!!! Dh said that as surgeries go, its like a 5/10 when it comes to pain and recovery. He said the bunion pain was much worse then the surgical pain….Pain meds kept him quite comfortable.

    Hope everything works out good!! Try and get before and after XRays to post! I LOVE IT! 🙂 Course some of your other readers might pass out….ha

    love ya!! hUGS

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Aug 19, 2010 @ 14:26:19

      I didn’t think to take my camera to my last appointment to get a photo of the x-rays. Plus, I’m afraid they’re going to think I’m totally weird. Oh well. I’ll try to get before/after pics post-op.

  2. Danna Snider
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 02:13:03

    I hope all goes well! A lot of dancers go through bunion pain, surgery etc. Luckily I never had issues with that. Achilles tendon was my….well, weakness.

    I’ll be thinking of you.

    xo Danna

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Aug 19, 2010 @ 14:26:50

      Thanks, Danna! I can’t blame my bunions on anything but heredity.

  3. Nikki Jasper
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 12:30:31

    Best of luck, my friend! With my surgeries, I found the surgical pain was minimal when compared with the pain that merited the surgery. (Wow, could that sentence be any more convoluted?) Anyway, I wish you a speedy recovery! 🙂

