He Did It To Us Again

Remember what happened the last time I prayed that God would provide us money from unexpected places?  Our motorcycle got stolen. And we did get some money from it (because we didn’t have a loan on it and we didn’t buy another motorcycle), but that made me a little shy to keep praying that prayer.

So I stopped praying it.  And then sometimes I would pray it hesitantly, always adding the footnote, “but I don’t really want anything else stolen.”

Finally, I got my nerve back.  And I started praying in earnest.

And then Chef got rear-ended and slammed into the car in front of him, totaling his Scion.  Really, God?  Again?

So Chef is working with the insurance company to get payment worked out.  We will get enough to pay off the loan — which is very exciting.  But the question is whether there will be enough left over to purchase a comparable, reliable car.  I am thankful that Chef has a brother and an uncle who are good at finding good deals on cars, so that will be helpful.  We do not intend to get another loan to purchase a car, but it may be difficult to find a vehicle of the appropriate size for deliveries that is in good shape and doesn’t require constant repairs.

I’m hesitantly thanking God for his provision.  I think.

Now, I have to add here that in the mean time, we were also given a large financial gift which we hope will cover all or most of my upcoming foot surgery (after insurance).  Plus we made $106 on our garage sale, and Chef already wrote a check in that amount to Discover.  Hooray!  So God is answering my prayer, but the whole car thing… well, I didn’t exactly want that.  Getting rid of that loan will be really nice… but I’m becoming rather afraid of praying — at least praying for money from unexpected places.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 10:30:34

    Ugh, I’m so sorry. I’d be afraid to pray that too. 😛

  2. riTa
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 13:42:57

    Funny, I just listened to James 1 and what stood out was:

    “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. 4Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”

    LOL, I think…
    The whole “less is more” axiom and the subject of losses has been on my mind as well. Hmmmmmmmmm…

  3. Talley Mac
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 19:57:55

    Egads! i’m thinking b/c you didn’t say anything that chef is oK!! I’m sorry for the unexpected blessing? I guess its called? i guess the blessing is your hub is home safe with you!!!

    praying it all works out!! Give that hub a hug from me that I’m thankful he is OK!!!! Poor little scion.

    T

  4. Kim
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 20:38:49

    How funny. Not funny haha, Just odd funny.
    That’s why I won’t EVER again pray for patience 🙂
    Will, however, pray for God’s provision of an affordable, good-sized and dependable vehicle for y’all!

  5. Trackback: Replacement « Small Town Runner
