Hey, Dave Ramsey! I need a pep talk!

Chef and I are still following Dave Ramsey’s plan faithfully.  But there are bumps in the road.  It would be kind of nice if old Dave would just call me up, or stop by the house, and give me a little encouragement.

The good news is that we’re still paying for all our household expenses (including all the utilities and groceries and toiletries, plus the mortgage and one credit card) from my salary.  The bad news is that I still don’t like my job, and yet for some reason I’m not getting any interviews for the other jobs I’m applying for.  However, more good news is that the principal on our mortgage is now below $69,000 and we should be out of PMI in a couple of months, reducing our monthly payment by about $40.  That’s a huge relief because we’re anticipating an increase in expenses due to welcoming a houseguest who will be living with us starting in July.

We’re still chipping away at our debt.  Chef pays all the other debts (aside from the mortgage and that one credit card) with his income from his business.  This month, the debt at the top of our snowball (Discover) got only a $200 payment instead of $2000 because Chef has clients who haven’t paid him yet, along with expenses.  He makes every effort to pay a lot on the snowball, and I know that when the cash flow for the business improves, he’ll be back on top of making big payments.

Are we still on track to be debt free (aside from the house) in November of 2011?  I don’t know.  I kind of doubt it, and that is discouraging for me.  If I loved my job, it would be much easier to know that I need to keep working beyond that date that we had set for a goal, but I don’t love my job.  It’s a lot easier to go to work when I can see the proverbial light at the end of the tunnel, but the light seems to be fading.  I know that we’re still on the right track, that we’re doing the right thing in working to be debt-free, and that we WILL get there.  It’s just hard to know that we probably won’t get there as quickly as I had hoped.

So, Dave, if you’re reading this, could you give me a call?  Send me an email?  Stop by my house?  I just need a little pep talk with your smooth Tenneessee twang.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. riTa
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 09:50:29

    Some tunnels are really long, we noticed that in the mountains of N Spain, but there was an end and light!
    I pray that something will brighten each work day.

