A Phase and a Decision

I’m going through a phase right now.  I think lots of people do — they get really excited about painting watercolors, or playing classical guitar, or scrapbooking, or geocaching.  But they do it for a few months and then the excitement about the activity passes, and the phase is over.

My phase right now is not running.

I do enjoy running, but right now I feel like there’s too much going on.  I’ve got a yard to clean up so I can have a bigger garden next year.  I just got done painting a canoe.  I’m planning a garage sale.  I need to rearrange furniture and stuff in storage in two bedrooms to make space for a houseguest who is coming in July.  I’ve got tomatoes nearly ready to pick and herbs growing so well that I need to figure out what food to make with them.  Plus, it’s hot and muggy and it’s been thunderstorming almost every day for the last week.

Running has taken a back seat.  I still manage to run a couple of times a week, but it’s not as often as I usually like to run.   I miss running, but I’m convinced we’ll be reunited again.  Someday when the weather and my schedule coincide in a delight of perfect harmony, I’ll run again.

In the meantime, I’ve already signed up for some races.  I’ve got a five-miler on Saturday.  No problem, though.  I’ve been running enough that I can do five miles without too much trouble.  However, there is a 15K in September that, in April, sounded like a great thing to train for.  Now… do I have the time and the motivation to train for a nine mile run?  There is a companion event on the same day — a 5K walk.  I’ve contemplated just doing that instead.  But it will be much harder for me to be excited about getting up in the morning and driving out to the site for a walk.  It’s much more motivating to do that for a run.  But nine miles is far, especially if you haven’t trained for it.  Last year, I had trained for it, but I was recovering from having had the flu a week and a half before the race.  It was a hard, hard run, and I came in last, which is not the best experience in the world.

I have about twelve weeks between now and the race.  That’s plenty of time to train for a 15K… if you actually spend the time training.  I’m just not sure I can.  Or will.

But right now, I want to go for a run, and my schedule foils my desires.  And other times, my schedule permits it, but there are many other things to do.

I’d better stop thinking about this, or my brain might explode… in which case, running won’t even be an option.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. riTa
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 06:31:44

    Maybe we could walk together in Sept.
    I was wanting to go out Saturday, but too much to do, with having just gotten back and Amaia coming next week. My brain may explode!

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Jun 18, 2010 @ 15:38:40

      That sounds good. Maybe we can plan on that. Training for 9 miles just seems like more than I can do right now.

  2. Kim
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 14:09:02

    I don’t know of anyone who can consistently do anything (except breathe)…things come up, life happens, and IT’S OKAY NOT TO RUN for a bit 😀 You’re right, you’ll get back to running and it’s perfectly okay to give yourself a pass meanwhile. You’re still getting plenty of physical activity, that’s for sure!

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Jun 18, 2010 @ 15:39:37

      Thanks for your encouragement, Kim! Knowing that I’ve run 3 half marathons in the last 2 years makes me think I SHOULD be able to train for and run a 15K… but you’re right. It’s OKAY NOT TO RUN for a while!

