How Chef Works Out

I write a lot about my workouts — my running, Pilates, elliptical training, and my 100 push-ups plan (yes, I’m STILL stuck on week 4, but I’m hoping to move on to week 5 soon.)

But Chef works out, too.  Just not in the same way.

First, ice sculpting is a very physical job.  He has to move around blocks of ice that are 300 pounds.  He carves them with chainsaws die grinders that are pretty heavy.  He’s on his feet a lot.  This is serious work — especially compared to my job, which involves sitting at a desk and moving the pile of papers on my right to a different stack on my left.

In the winter, he’s not only carving for business, but also in competitions almost every weekend from January through early March.  He burns a lot of calories wrangling that ice in 20 degree temperatures.

In the summer, he’s still carving, but he also plays team sports.

Chef is on the church softball team.  They usually have practice on Sunday afternoons and their games are every Thursday evening.  There are a lot of guys on the team this year, so Chef hasn’t had as much playing time as he’d like, but he gives it his all every time he’s out there.

And on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, he meets up with a bunch of guys to play soccer.  You wouldn’t know it by looking at him, but Chef’s a pretty fast guy.

Here are some photos of Chef in action (He’s in a blue shirt and blue shorts):

You know how I try to stay fit, and you know how Chef stays fit.  How do you stay fit?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. riTa
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 12:05:12

    I really enjoyed reading this and seeing Chef-son!
    Over here I have walked and walked and walked and walked some more (especially the day I got lost in France and walked for three hours!)

  2. Neil
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 12:38:49

    I stay fit by trying to get playing time for all 16 guys on the softball team! And by playing settlers with chef. Both are extreme workouts!

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Jun 16, 2010 @ 08:28:45

      and by fabricating ridiculous softball team email updates, right Niel?

