Canoe

Last year, we bought a used canoe that Chef found on Craig’s List.  It was a nice little canoe.  I think it was our anniversary gift to ourselves, but that was over a year ago so I don’t really remember.

This canoe needed a lot of work.  The paint was chipping and peeling, so we needed to sand it and repaint it.  And that’s what we’ve spent several weekends doing. Since sometime in its history, the canoe had been yellow, we decided to keep it yellow despite our discussions of painting it green (Chef’s idea) or red (my idea).

I’m glad Chef had an electric sander I could use.  Sanding by hand would have been tiring, and I probably wouldn’t have done a good job.

Next came the primer.

Then the yellow paint.

Painting with spray paint took me back to my high school days, when my drama teacher set me and some friends to the task of using paint thinner to remove paint from a vinyl banner.  He had us do this inside, with no venilation, even though it was a beautiful day outside.  Since I weighed about 98 pounds at the time and was at this task for a couple of hours, I got rather intoxicated by the fumes.  My mother was NOT happy with the teacher, especially since this was the same man who had allowed my older sister to get high on spray paint only about six or eight years earlier.

But Mom, you should look on the bright side.  The crash from that high made me never want to do drugs.

Stephan helped paint, too.

The canoe is almost finished, and I’m hoping we can take it out on the river this weekend.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Jun 13, 2010 @ 13:14:50

    Looks like some fun days on the water ahead for you! I like canoes. More than rowboats and I have no idea why. I just think they seem more cozy or something. Enjoy your bright yellow canoe!

  2. Amy
    Jun 13, 2010 @ 13:52:46

    We found out we can go canoeing at the local city park. Thomas, Lucy and Clem are begging to go since they haven’t been since they last went to summer camp, over 2 years ago. Hope to get them (and me) there soon!
    Remember canoeing down the White River in college – remember the *sunburns* we had? I think that was the last time I went canoeing…..

  3. riTa
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 06:35:23

    Nice looking canoe! I hear you already enjoyed it on the water 🙂

