Small Town Slacker

It has been a week since my last run.

It’s been hot, and I’ve been busy.  Last Friday, I rode my bike to work (12 miles, round trip), and my body was too tired to go for a run after that.  Saturdays I usually run to the YMCA and take a Pilates class, but I had big plans for my holiday weekend.  Instead, I slept late on Saturday and then got up and mowed the grass, did the laundry, trimmed the trees, and planted the herbs we had bought at the Farmers’ Market Friday evening.  I also sanded and primed the canoe in preparation for painting.  It was a very busy day.

Sunday after church, I worked on the canoe some more before we visited family and watched the Indy 500.  And Monday I cleaned the whole house, did another couple of loads of laundry, watched Chef play soccer, went grocery shopping, and then prepared food for Monday Night Dinner.

So all of that, along with temperatures in the mid to upper 80’s, not to mention the stupid chronic foot issues I have, made running seem a little less than desirable.

But the holiday is over, and I’ve got a 10 K coming up this month!  It’s time to get back to work!  Who’s with me?  (Please?  Seriously, I need all the encouragement I can get right now.)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dawn
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 17:59:39

    I wish we lived near each other! I’d love to run with you!

    I’ve been slacking myself. This heat is killing me. I just hate it. I took a much needed week off of running, and when I came back, I couldn’t run 5k without taking walk breaks, when previously, I had run up to 10! I’m just getting my legs back today, just in time for a 10k race on Saturday. Yikes.

    You can do it! 🙂

  2. riTa
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 15:17:35

    I’d love to join you, I mean wog along behind, way behind, on the 19th. We’ll see…

