A Reason to Eat More SunChips

A few weeks ago, Chef and I went to visit my parents.  My mom knows my favorite foods, and she likes to have them for me when we visit.  She knows that both Chef and I love meatloaf sandwiches, so she makes meatloaf a few days before we go and makes sure she has extra so we can have sandwiches for lunch when we come.  She also knows that I like SunChips — the Garden Salsa flavor is my favorite.

Maybe you’ve seen the commercials.  SunChips has now made their bags 100 percent compostable.  They feel like they are made of plastic, but apparently they’re made of recycled plant materials.

Since Mom knew that we were planning to start composting, she let us have the bag.

Chef made a compost barrel, based on a design he found online.  He had a large plastic barrel that he had used for his business, but that he didn’t need anymore.  He cut a door in the side and put hinges on it.  That’s where we’ll put the scraps in.  The barrel sits on a wooden frame, and has a handle on one end so that it’s easy to rotate the barrel and turn the compost.

So, our very first contribution to the compost barrel?  The SunChips bag, of course!

It was a very exciting event.

Since then, we’ve added carrot peels, onion peels, corn husks, pineapple skins and tops, corn cobs, and leaves.  I’m hopeful that we’ll have nice, rich compost to put on our garden next year.

And to help out the compost, I’m willing to make the sacrifice of eating more SunChips.

**This post was not sponsored by SunChips in any way.  However, if any SunChips executive would like to sponsor me by sending me free SunChips (and I wouldn’t turn down cash, either), please contact me on my Contact Page.**

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jana
    May 28, 2010 @ 14:13:43

    How exciting! The composting barrel on a wooden horse, that’s ingenious. And you gotta do what you gotta do – and eating SunChips just might be the way to get the most nutritious compost ever. Eat away.

  2. riTa
    May 28, 2010 @ 14:29:19

    Yum yum. I may have to help enrich your compost. Compostable bags, that’s new!
    What a great mother you have! Have to love her.

  3. Kim
    May 28, 2010 @ 21:35:34

    Now you can feel all good about eating a favorite food — you’re saving the environment in the process!

    Don’t know that I’ve ever had a SunChip. Am I missing out on something amazing?

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Jun 01, 2010 @ 11:02:09

      Mmmm, they are so yummy. If I could mail some to you without them all getting crushed, and without them going stale while they languish in customs, I would do it. You’ll just have to add that to your list of Things To Do When You Come Back to the States.

  4. dolores
    May 31, 2010 @ 22:24:14

    I’m impressed with that compost barrel. Way to go Chef!:>) (and Karen).

  5. Nikki Jasper
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 11:00:07

    I looooove SunChips, and I love the new eco-friendly design, BUT the uber-crinkly bag means no more sneaking a handful without notifying the kid that mom’s snacking on the sly… 🙂

