Cute Shoes

Finally, I found some cute shoes that I can actually wear.  I went to Fred Toenge’s Shoes (the last name is pronounced TEN-yas) and the sales person helped me find what I was looking for: cute, summery shoes with a removable footbed so I can put in my orthotics.  And they had to be plenty wide enough to accomodate the hideous bunions.  I had to save up, and they had to order the color I wanted, but I finally got them.

They are Drew Barefoot Freedom Delite.  I got them in blue:

They’re pretty comfortable.  I have admit, they are still a little snug around my forefoot, where the bunions are.  And I wore them two days in a row and had pain in my right knee both days (but I think I had that pain the day before I wore the shoes, so I’m hoping it’s unrelated.)

The shoes also come in green, and I think they are very cute in green.

They have purple, too.  I don’t think I have anything to wear with purple shoes, but I have to say the color intrigues me.  It reminds me of purple SweeTarts.

And they have darker colors, too, for fall.  The black ones are okay, and I like these brown ones:

These are pricey shoes, but I was able to get 20% off because the company I work for is affiliated with the local hospital.  Therefore, I have a hospital identification card.  Customers with hospital IDs get 20% off at Fred Toenge’s.  Sweet, huh?  My job is good for something besides just paying the mortgage and buying groceries!

Okay, so these shoes might not be your idea of cute.  But I have to face facts.  Even after my surgery, I am never really going to be able to wear shoes like these:

So my shoes might look clunky to someone else.  Others might not think they are very stylish.  But if I’ll be happy if I can just avoid having to wear shoes like these:

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. riTa
    May 05, 2010 @ 20:41:39

    That style is in, and looks comfortable. They have enough give to accomodate your buñones (I just made that up). Good choice!

  2. Tracy
    May 06, 2010 @ 10:19:06

    I like those green ones! So cute!!

  3. Heidi
    May 18, 2010 @ 04:46:49

    ooooo, I *like* these! they are cute and stylish and functional! heels just aren’t functional, and they’re horrible for your back, legs, overall body (and posture) and your feet. so you go, girl!

