Cardinal Greenway 5K, April 24, 2010

Saturday dawned cloudy and rainy.  I dressed with short sleeves and shorts, but put long pants and a jacket over it all, not sure what I’d be more comfortable in as I ran.  I arrived at registration, picked up the bag that was given to all entrants and pinned on my number, and started to stretch and warm up.  Honestly, I don’t generally stretch and warm up before I run, but that’s what everyone else was doing, and since I didn’t have anyone to talk to, I figured I might as well look like I fit in.

Eventually I located my mother-in-law who also had entered the race.  We chatted, and as the start time drew nearer, I decided that it was warm enough to forgo the long pants and jacket, so I put them in her car.  I was glad I didn’t need my jacket, because I was wearing my NF endurance team t-shirt, and I wanted to show it off.

With my car key uncomfortably in the pocket of my compression shorts and my thin socks trying to give my bunions room in my shoes, Rita and I made our way to the start.  The air horn sounded, and we were off.

I ran this race last year, but this year due to contsruction, the route was slightly different.  This was really okay, because it meant that we didn’t have to run to the top of the soapbox derby hill this time.  That was exhausting last year.  The course this year was pretty flat, and as the drizzle cooled my face, I thought to myself that the weather was pretty nice for a race.

I kept myself running for the entire race, and the pains that I had in the beginning gradually worked themselves out.  As I came to the last tenth of a mile, I sprinted to the finish, completing the race in roughly 31:23.  I earned second place in my age group, and if that’s because they put me in the 35-39 age group even though I’m still 34 for four more months… well, I guess I won’t complain too much.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. riTa
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 12:52:29

    Thanks for the well-written overview of our run. I’m going to link your post to my blog.
    Such pretty colors, the green against the peach.

  2. Talley Mac
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 22:50:52

    Good job K!!! Rock it sister!!

  3. Connie
    May 01, 2010 @ 09:51:09

    Way to go, girl!

