The YMCA 5K

On Saturday, April 3, I ran the 5K that the YMCA in my small town organized.  Well, organized might be the wrong term.  It certainly wasn’t highly organized.  I guess since it was their first one and teenagers were doing all the work, maybe it wasn’t so bad.  But it wasn’t all that great, either.

Before the race began, I heard some of the volunteers talking about how they were kind of disappointed in the turnout because not many people signed up.  And I was thinking that even though I go to the Y at least once a week, I didn’t even know about it until the week prior, and that was only because I always take the effort to see what flyers they have available.  You know, in case I might find a new class to take or a race to run.  I just don’t think that they publicized it very well, and I think that’s why they didn’t get a large turnout.

The race started at the Y, went south on a gravel path to the T in the road, then east on the same gravel path for about a block.  Then we turned south again toward the schools.  There was a police officer there, stopping traffic for us, which was nice.  Then we ran on the road (no shoulder, no sidewalk) until we got past the high school, where we could then run on a sidewalk.  We ran down to the middle school and halfway around the parking lot where we got to a water station and the turnaround.

There were only about eight people running (there were probably twice that doing the walk), and I was seventh place.  I’m okay with that.  I know I’m not fast.  But when I arrived at the finish, I asked for my time, and the woman with the stopwatch said, “Oh, I guess I should have timed everyone.”  So I think she stopped her watch after the first runner finished.  And I thought, you know, I don’t expect to win, but I would like to know my time.  As I headed inside to get some water, someone shouted to me, “It was under thirty minutes!”  And I find that very unlikely.  First of all, the fastest 5K I ever ran in my life (several years ago when I weighed less than I do now) was about 31 minutes.  To my knowledge, I have never run faster than a 10 minute mile, so to run 3.1 miles in less than 30 minutes would be an amazing feat for me.  On top of that, the gravel did not provide a great running surface, and the wind was crazy that day, and I’m sure both of those factors slowed me down.

At least I got a t-shirt.

Only, check out the spelling.

Innagural.  Not inaugural.  Innagural.

Well, at least I won my age group.  Actually, I don’t know if I did or not because they didn’t have any awards at the end — not that they timed anyone anyway.

But surely there was no one there exactly my age.  So I beat everyone else who is exactly my age.  And for this race, for me, that’s winning my age group.  So there.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. merry
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 09:21:36

    How funny and crazy and strange and bizarre!

    Hopefully they’ll learn a little bit about race organizing before next year’s race.

  2. Kim
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 14:41:02

    Oooooo, wince at the poor spelling 😦
    But way to go on winning your age group! 🙂

  3. rita
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 22:26:31

    Did I hear you say you might volunteer at the Y? They need you!

    Oh, maybe it was the Greenway…

    Anyway, you’re a winner in my opinion!

  4. Heather
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 12:48:39

    That is HILARIOUS. It’s like a cake wreck on a t-shirt. LOL!

