The Power of Cash

On Tuesday this week, I went to the doctor to have my feet looked at.  Another post will come soon, telling you all about my adventures in Bunionland.  I know you can’t wait.

Anyway, the point is that I was in a woman’s office, filling out all the intake paperwork.  She needed a copy of my insurance card and my photo ID, and of course my $30 co-pay.  She asked, “Do you have a credit card, or a debit card, or a check?”

“I have cash,” I replied, pulling out the money that Chef and I had budgeted for this visit.

She laughed.  “Cash?” she joked.  “What’s that?  We hardly ever see that anymore!”

When I told Chef that story, he told me about how he had gone down to the Dollar General the other day.  They were having trouble with their computer system, and whenever someone would use a debit card, the whole system would shut down and have to be rebooted.  I nodded knowingly.  Once when I had been there, they could not even take a check because their satellite dish was down, and for reasons I’m not clear about, they needed their satellite dish in order to take a check.  Chef said that he told the women at the check out, “I have cash.  Can you take that?”

They said, “Sure!  We’ll always take cash!”

And aside from knowing that with cash, I’ll never spend more than I have (eliminating those nasty overdraft fees), it seems like people are always happy to see cash.  Just one more reason to use greenbacks instead of plastic.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 17:02:23

    We were invited guests at TU chapel today honoring Rick Seaman, one of the speakers made the statement that credit card users on average spend 35% more than those who pay with cash.

