Early Morning

1:45 Wake up after dream that people were in my house.  They were dressed as bee keepers (or bees?) and I had to hide under the bed.

1:50 Figure while I am awake, I might as well go to the bathroom.

2:01 Chef comes to bed.  I tell him I had a bad dream, but I leave out the part about the bee keepers (bees?) because it’s ridiculous and I don’t want to get into that conversation at two in the morning.

2:04 Chef falls asleep.  I lie awake, wondering how he falls asleep in three minutes.

2:12 Chef begins to snore.  I nudge him to make him stop.  It doesn’t really work.

2:17 Gryffon also begins to snore.  It’s like dueling banjos, only with snoring.  One on my left, the other on my right, snoring.

2:27 Train goes by, blowing its whistle.  I think how much louder it would sound if the windows were open.  I think about how when we first moved into our house, the trains woke me up at night.  Now I usually don’t notice them, and they almost never wake me up.

2:43 I drift off to sleep.  I dream that Chef, his brother and sister-in-law and their kids and I are all in some big house or apartment somewhere.  I really want to take a bath, but my sister-in-law keeps coming into the bathroom, sometimes with the kids, and I can’t get any privacy.  She actually removes the lock from one of the two bathroom doors so that I can’t lock them out.  Later in the dream, we open the curtains that were covering huge living room windows and we see a beautiful Italian landscape.  I lament that I forgot to bring my camera on the trip, and also think that I still really want a bath.

3:14 I wake again.  Chef and Gryffon have stopped snoring, but I am tired of being awake.

3:27 I fall asleep again.

3:59 I wake up, check the clock, and am irritated to know that I have to get up in an hour.  Thankfully, I fall back asleep quickly.

5:00 I hear a beeping and have no idea what it is.  Oh, the alarm.  Crud.  I hit the snooze.

5:09 The alarm goes off again, and I reluctantly get up.  It’s going to be a sleepy day.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 13:34:39

    Two nights ago, our smoke detector started beeping at 12:30am and woke us up. Then last night, our carbon monoxide detector started beeping at 3am. Tonight I am replacing the batteries in every detector we have so we can finally get some sleep! 😛

  2. Thelma
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 15:28:23

    Yikes. Those kind of pseudo-sleepless nights are the worst. Love the beekeepers!

  3. rita
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 15:31:22

    Dear Sleepless in Yorktown:
    Try white noise, like a loud fan, or a recording of the ship engine.
    If that doesn’t block out the snoring and roaring, GO UPSTAIRS!
    Good luck!
    Sleeping well in TN

  4. rita
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 15:33:50

    LOL I meant GO DOWNSTAIRS.

