Monday Meal: Cheffie & Julia

Property of Small Town Runner, https://smalltownrunner.wordpress.com.

Last summer, my friend Paula and I went to see Julie & Julia when it was in the theater.  I really enjoyed it.

This past winter, Chef’s parents had borrowed the movie, and when Chef and I were at their house, they asked us if we wanted to watch it.  We did, and we all enjoyed it.  And I think the movie got Chef’s chef-brain working again.

So for his birthday, I bought him the book talked about in the movie: Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking.

And on Monday, he prepared some of the dishes in that book.   The first recipe in the book was potage parmentier, or potato and leek soup.  Yum.  Sooooo good.

He also made aigo bouido, a garlic soup.  I never would have thought of garlic soup.  It was strange.  Strong, but not overwhelmingly so.  I felt like it was a good thing to eat when you have a cold (which I do).  The book suggests serving it with bread and cheese (which Chef did) and I certainly think you would not want this for a main course, but it still got positive comments from our guests.

For a French dessert, though Chef got the recipe from a colleague and not from the book, is creme brulee. It was so good.  It’s the creamiest, richest bowl of heaven you can imagine.

All the while, Chef was doing his best Julia Child vocal impression, which was pretty funny.  Next, I want to see him dress up like her and hold a giant fish, like this:

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 13:48:45

    I have this book and love it! I am totally going to try the potage parmentier now!

  2. Kim
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 20:22:12

    Yum! Even though it’s still hot, I’ve made soup and chili in the last week. Garlic soup does sound like the perfect thing for a cold weather cold!
    Creme brulee is my favorite dessert and would love a good recipe for it 🙂

  3. chefthechef
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 23:03:38

    auntie kim,

    This recipe couldn’t be easier:

    1 can of sweetened, condensed milk+6 egg yolks+1 quart of heavy cream.

    Mix and pour in ramekins and bake in a water bath at 350 for i don’t know, 35 to 40 minutes or until done 🙂

