Crazy Eights: VII

Today is Chef’s birthday.  Here are eight reasons why I love him:

1. He cracks himself up.  Even when he tells a joke that I don’t think is funny at all, I often can’t help but laugh because he is doubled over, guffawing at his own humor.

2. He expands my horizons.  Before I met him, I had never gone camping, eaten Thai food, been to Michigan or Colorado or Alaska, owned a dog, run farther than a mile, or caught a fish.

3. He is supportive.  When I have an opportunity to do something that seems kind of exciting but also a little scary, he encourages me and tells me I can do it and will probably love it.

4. He gives fabulous hugs.

5. He’s always looking for little ways to make me happy — taking me to do something new like go-kart racing, or planning something we enjoy together like miniature golf (even though he knows I cheat sometimes), or bringing me a bowl of ice cream after dinner.

6. He thanks me every time I cook for him.  Sure, I thank him, too, when he cooks, but it’s just really nice to be appreciated.  He also thanks me for doing the laundry.

7. He’s funny.  I can’t believe I keep publicly admitting it, though I’m proud of myself for at least holding out until number 7 to say it.  A lot of the time he really does tell bad jokes, but sometimes he does have a doozy that I actually laugh at.

8. He loves me, and he tells me and shows me every day.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beka
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 14:21:58

    “even though I cheat sometimes”… 😀 that’s the greatest

  2. Rita
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 00:32:15

    So glad you’re back!
    And that your crazy in love with my son!

  3. Nikki
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 16:39:14

    You guys are too cute… and I have to say that your husband expanded my culinary horizons. He alone is responsible for getting me to TRY any number of foods that are now my favorites. Before I met him, I had never tasted a mushroom. 🙂

  4. Kim
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 21:01:19

    Awwww! That was so sweet 🙂
    Hope Chef had a GREAT birthday.

