Monday Meal: Skeptical Potato Soup

Ladies and Gents, I’m going to have to take a break from blogging.  Life has been crazy lately, and I simply don’t have the time to write as much as I’d like, much less take photos of stuff that I write about.  But before I desert you, I wanted to give you the recipe for the soup I made for last week’s Monday Meal: Skeptical Potato Soup.

This isn’t a cream of potato soup (it’s more brothy than creamy) , and so when I first made it for Chef, he didn’t think he’d like it.  But he did like it.  A lot.  And that is when he dubbed it “Skeptical Potato Soup.”

Skeptical Potato Soup

6 potatoes, chopped into bite-sized pieces (you can peel them if you want, but I don’t)

2 onions, chopped

1 carrot, chopped

1 celery stalk, chopped

4 chicken bouillon cubes (or some other way to make it a chickeny broth)

1 tablespoon parsley flakes (dried.  I never have fresh on hand, but I’m sure fresh would be great.)

5 cups water (reduce this if you use chicken broth)

1 teaspoon salt (to taste)

1/4 teaspoon pepper (to taste)

1/4 cup butter

1 13-ounce can evaporated milk

Put all ingredients EXCEPT MILK in crockpot.  Cook on low for about 8 to 10 hours.  Shortly before serving, add milk and heat through.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rita
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 16:43:08

    I like that this is made in the slow cooker.
    I will miss you :(
    But, wait, I will see you tonight! :)

  2. Beka
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 08:48:58

    crockpot! that just makes it that much better…

  3. Kim
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 21:21:14

    Can understand the need for a bloggy break now and then. But please don’t stay gone too long! :-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

