Nationally Ranked

Nationally Ranked!  That would be my husband, not me.  I can’t even think of anything I do at which I’m good enough to be nationally ranked.  Not blogging.  Not running.  Not knitting.  Perhaps eating grapefruit, since I’ve been doing a ridiculous amount of that lately.

Hmmm.  NATIONALLY RANKED GRAPEFRUIT EATER.  That would just be weird.

Anyway, my darling husband, Chef, is ranked fifth in the nation among ice sculptors.  The National Ice Carving Association (NICA) National Competition was Saturday and Sunday, February 20-21, in Fairbanks, Alaska.  He carved for two days and was really pleased with his piece.

His sculpture, entitled “Chimney Sweep,” is an idea that he’s had for months.  In fact, probably since he got back from Alaska last year.  His mind is always designing, his fingers always drawing.

The weather has been pretty good up there, with highs in the mid- to upper-twenties.  Chef would prefer it a little colder, I think. (He likes it around twenty.)  But he hasn’t complained.

There’s the finished piece.

Chef said there were some really amazing sculptures, but he was really pleased with his piece.  And I’m super-proud of him for winning fifth place.

He’ll be up there for another week and a half, carving in two more contests.  Go to IceAlaska.com to keep up on all the latest, and to see all the other carvers’ pieces.

All images courtesy Ice Alaska.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 09:47:55

    I like that night shot, the complete piece.
    I hadn’t seen that one yet.
    It was the tallest one.

  2. Lisa Ashby
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 13:33:06

    How cool – love it!

  3. Tracy
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 14:22:44

    Wow – what a stunning piece! Beautiful!

  4. Beka
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 08:47:54

    Now that’s just fun..

