Monday Meal: Tacos

Tacos may be my favorite meal ever.  So last week, knowing that Chef was going to be out of town for the first of four straight Mondays (*sob*), I thought tacos would be just the thing to cheer me up.  I mentioned to Chef that I’d make three pounds of meat.

“That’s an awful lot of taco meat,” he said.

So, in spite of the fact that I figured I could eat a half a pound plus all the fixings myself, I figured that he (being a CHEF after all) knew better, and as a result I made only two pounds of meat.  (Venison, for your information, simply because we still have venison in the freezer and no beef.  With all the taco seasoning, you can hardly tell a difference, except that it’s leaner.)

Anyway, I’m really glad I listened to Chef, because of all our Monday Meal regulars, only TWO showed up.

And I think Rita came only because she promised to bring cheese and lettuce.  And Lisa came only because she’d seen me on Friday and promised to come.

See, it’s been snowing here in central Indiana.  And snowing, and snowing.  And it snowed all day on Monday, and an all-day snow makes people want to sit in their own houses under their own blankets and not drive or walk to even such a fabulous event as Monday Dinner.

At least, I’m hoping it was the snow and not the fact that everyone knew Chef wasn’t going to be there.

As a result, we had a LOT of tacos to eat.  Even I couldn’t eat them all.  So I had a lot of leftovers, which Chef and I polished off for lunches and dinners after he returned from Wyoming and before he left for Alaska.

And this week, I’m thinking that I might not make the two huge pots of soup I was planning.  I think maybe just one.

Oh, and after Rita and Lisa left, I indulged my new grapefruit addiction.  And I ate TWO of them.

So there.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 09:07:55

    From now on I will plan on being photo ready for MM and will try not to smile so broadly, like little kids do for pictures 😉
    See ya’ lator 🙂

    • Chef
      Mar 12, 2010 @ 15:32:35

      actually, i liked that shot…i’m glad that you smile at least occasionally since you birthed me.

  2. Talley Mac
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 00:22:16

    Rockin’ the grapefruit!! did it help your cold???

    mmm tacos, maybe I shall make that this week. YUM

