Eighteen Long Days

Chef leaves today for Alaska.  He will be gone for eighteen days.

I think this is the longest we will have been apart since we got married, so I’m kind of sad.  I’ll miss him.

He tried to tell me lots of bad jokes so that I would be irritated and be glad to see him go.  It didn’t work.  (Well, I did get irritated, but I’m still not glad to see him go.)

You can follow his progress with his ice sculptures at the Ice Alaska website.  I’ll provide updated information and links when I can.

I don’t have a lot to write today.  I’m too busy being sad.  And making plans for the next two and a half weeks so that I’ll be too busy to keep being sad.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 11:22:57

    18 DAYS sounds better than one MONTH.
    My hubs will be gone 17 DAYS.
    We can be sad/busy together.

  2. Tracy
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 14:25:33

    Aww, I totally understand how you feel. About a year after we got married, my hubby had to leave town for work for a whole month. It really sucked…I ended up flying out to visit him for a week because I couldn’t handle being away from him that long. Hope you find lots of things to do to keep yourself busy! *hugs*

  3. Kim
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 17:45:15

    Yeah, I’m not a fan of the long separations either but sometimes they’re inevitable. I like your attitude about keeping too busy to stay sad!

