Fresh

As you know, I’ve been really focused on enjoying winter for as long as it lasts.  But there is one thing I’ve really been missing: fresh fruits and vegetables.  Don’t misunderstand:  I love me some nice, heavy, starchy comfort food, fried and covered in gravy.  But even I, a lifelong Hoosier, can have too much.  Frozen vegetables are okay, but I’ve really been missing fresh asparagus, fresh green beans, fresh tomatoes.

Unbeknownst to me, Chef had some cherry tomatoes in the fridge.  One recent night, he surprised me with a bowl of them, halved and drizzled with a thin ranch dressing and sprinkled with dill.  Oh, it was like springtime in my mouth.  It was marvelous.

And that put me on a mission to get more fruit and veggies onto my tongue.

Not an easy feat in the middle of a February snowstorm when the grocery budget is nearly zero.

But I did go to the store last weekend, and I had enough money to buy myself a bottle of Bolthouse Farms Carrot/Apple/Passionfruit juice.

It’s all natural and organic and blah blah blah.  I didn’t care about that stuff.  What I cared about was how it would taste.

And over ice, it tasted mighty fine.  I drank the whole bottle in one day.  It would have been in one sitting, if I hadn’t paced myself.

Also, this is the season for grapefruit, so I bought some of them, too.

Funny, I always think of grapefruit as coming from Florida, but these were from Texas.

I used to dislike grapefruit, but now I like it.

I ate about six of these in two days.  That’s six whole grapefruit, not six grapefruit halves.

My mouth was singing.

And I won’t get scurvy before spring comes.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rita
    Feb 17, 2010 @ 09:44:54

    I’ve been tending our hanging garden and reading about growing things in small spaces. Hopefully we can get this thing going. I water the plants and sing to them every evening. We’ll see what happens…meanwhile that juice looks good!

  2. Tracy
    Feb 17, 2010 @ 14:33:08

    Wow, that’s a lot of grapefruit! I’m not allowed to eat it anymore but I do love me some oranges. 🙂

  3. Amy
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 16:11:30

    I must admit to being jealous – I’ve been craving fruit juice in the worst way lately! Unfortunately, our budget only supports one glass of generic Sunny D for the kids per day. (Maybe if I collect the coins off the van floor and the bottom of my purse, I’d have enough for some real juice….that I would hide in the back of the fridge so no one else could find it!)

  4. Kim
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 17:49:45

    Did you know that the Argentine tea, mate, is also great at preventing scurvy?

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Feb 21, 2010 @ 13:43:06

      But despite my husband’s best efforts, I don’t like mate.

