On the Side

I mentioned previously that I wanted to find some sort of extra job to supplement our income in order to get out of debt faster.  The problem was that due to my busy schedule, it had to be something very part time, something that I could do whenever I had a chance, and something with no major deadlines.

I had signed up with an online company that matched writers with companies needing writing.  But the competition looked fierce, and I didn’t feel I had the experience to help me get chosen for projects or the time to put into what could be extensive assignments.

Nicole from Rainy Day Saver commented on my post and suggested that I check out Demand Studios.  Here’s what she said:

I encourage you to check out Demand Studios (www.demandstudios.com) — it’s an online content provider that provides copy to websites like eHow and Livestrong. I’ve been with them for 18 months, and they pay via PayPal twice a week. Sign up, and after they accept your application (they seem to accept most anybody), you can choose the titles/articles you want and complete them within seven days. Payment ranges from $7.50 to $25, depending on length/format. It’s something that you can do on the side when your already hectic schedule allows it. I write for them for $$$ to supplement my FT job and help us knock out our debt.

So I did check them out.  I applied and just a couple of days later got accepted.  I started looking through the titles I was interested in writing about, and found one on running shoes.  “Hey,” I thought, “this is something I know about.  I can do this.”  So I did, and it got accepted and I got $7.50.

I looked more, and couldn’t find anything else that I already knew about.  But I figured that most of these items weren’t hard to find out about with a little Internet research, so next I wrote one about deep pocket sheets (you know, the kind you use if you have a pillow top mattress.)  That one was also accepted, and I got paid another $7.50.

By this time I had realized that you don’t really have to know about the topic you’re writing about.  You just have to be willing to do a little research and be able to synthesize the information you gather.  I can do that.  My next article was about handkerchiefs vs. pocket squares, and and the next compared down with down-alternative comforters.

These articles will eventually be published on eHow.com or Answerbag.com or Pluck on Demand (a site I’d never heard of before) and other places.  They aren’t terribly interesting, but the work isn’t hard, and I’m learning little bits about a variety of topics.  Most importantly, I’m getting paid for writing!  It was really less than a year ago that I realized that I enjoy writing and would like to do more of it.  It’s what started this blog.  Unfortunately, I don’t get paid for this blog (though I’ve considered shamelessly asking for donations, so don’t be surprised if you see a Donate page here in the next few weeks!)  The blog is fun, and it gives me practice with writing on any subject that pops into my head.

But it’s really nice to get paid for it.  And $7.50 isn’t a lot, but if I write two articles a week at $7.50 each for a year, that’s $780.  Not enough to make a living on, but enough to help pay down our debt.

And that is really exciting.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 09:44:46

    Good plan.
    Have you looked into AdSense or something like that, where you advertise on your sidebar and get a percentage? I don’t know anything about it, but some make money off their blog (without asking for donations, ha 😉

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Feb 11, 2010 @ 09:51:27

      With the free WordPress blog that I have, I can’t add AdSense or other advertising features. I’ve considered upgrading my WordPress account, but I don’t feel I have enough regular readers to justify paying the fees at this point. Sure, I might be able to make more in ads than I pay, but it isn’t a sure thing, especially since my readership isn’t that high.

  2. Tracy
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 12:00:44

    That sounds cool!

    AdSense doesn’t pay much at all, in my opinion…I tried using them for several months and I made like $5 – to me, totally not worth the space on my blog for ads. So, I dropped them to go with the ad network on BlogHer. Even with them, I make half what I used to when I started. I think unless we’re the Pioneer Woman, we’re just not going to make much that way, unfortunately . :-\

  3. Money Funk
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 13:10:28

    I was just thinking of doing the same thing – yet constricted to the same time restraints. Since this is money made quicker than waiting for continuous passive revenue, I might just look into it. Thanks RainyDaySaver & SmallTownRunner. 🙂

    Hope it works out for you!

  4. RainyDaySaver
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 16:15:09

    I’m glad you’re finding it interesting and helpful for debt reduction. It can be a challenge to find topics that are exactly your interests, but it’s fairly easy to expand your ‘comfort zone’ and write about other topics that you find appealing or have some experience in. Every little bit of $$ toward debt helps!

  5. Trackback: Priorities « Small Town Runner
