The Open Road

Wednesday morning, I got to sleep in until 6:30.  Ridiculous, I know, but usually I get up at 5:00 so I can be at my doctor’s office job at 6:30, so while I would have preferred to sleep until a luxurious 7:30 or 8:00, 6:30 was still a nice change.

Wednesdays are my days to work for Chef at his studio.

The weather has warmed up, and the snow and ice that had made running on the road so scary have all melted.  The windchills aren’t below zero now, so I decided to get out of my YMCA habit and actually go for a run outside.

It’s about two and a half miles from our house to Chef’s shop.  A nice little run.

I put on my gear, including my orange reflective vest, and headed out.

It was an adjustment.  First, I didn’t have the very steady motor on the treadmill to guide my pace, which resulted in me starting off pretty fast.  I slowed it down a little, but I think I ended up running faster on the road than I usually do on the ‘mill.

Second, I had to watch out for cars.  I left about the time that the school buses were driving down my street.  And teenagers driving themselves to school don’t always look carefully when pulling out of their driveways.  For that matter, neither do adults driving themselves to work.

Also, I couldn’t watch Gilmore Girls.

It was a chilly morning, probably about 25 degrees.  My fingers were cold and the air bit my nose and cheeks.  But by six minutes in, I was getting the hang of being outside, and by about ten minutes, I was warm enough to unzip my fleece jacket a little bit.  I was starting to tire (a result of running faster than usual), but at about fifteen minutes, the rooster in the coop at the corner where I turn called out an encouraging “You can doodle-doodle-do it!”  So I kept running.

Turning north meant a sharp wind that wasn’t at all pleasant, and my zipper went back up.  But turning north also meant I had half a mile to go, so I kept plugging away.

I made it to the shop in 27 minutes.  Pretty good for my first time out in forever.

And then I realized I’d have to run back home.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 11:12:59

    So, was it too much?
    (I was almost going to say, “Were you decompooperated?” a family term 😉

  2. Dolores
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 14:56:41

    Why didn’t you just stay and get your work done? Hee! Hee! Oh! I’m guessing the boss wasn’t there yet? Love you guys :>)

  3. Kim
    Feb 07, 2010 @ 17:23:10

    Last line totally cracked me up!

  4. Heather
    Feb 09, 2010 @ 14:29:10

    Be careful on the roads, runner girl!

