Giveaway: Neck Warmer

All the cool bloggers do it.  They have giveaways.  I don’t know why, but I admit it does make reading blogs more fun.  I enter for lots of giveaways, and I never win.

I’m tempted to enter my own giveaway just so I have a better chance of winning.  But I won’t.  This is all for you guys!

It’s still winter, and it’s still cold out there, so I’m giving away this hand-knitted neck warmer.  It’s made of 100% alpaca and knitted in a seed stitch.

It’s a little bit blue, a little bit green, and very soft and warm.  And it’s short, so it’s not going to hang down and get in your way like a traditional scarf.

Let me tell you, I had a heck of a time getting a good photo of myself wearing it.

It’s hand wash / dry flat, and yes, I made it myself!

To enter, just leave a comment telling me the thing you like most about winter.  You have until midnight, February 8 to enter.  I’ll announce the randomly selected winner on Tuesday, February 9.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caren
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 09:28:03

    What I love about winter: that time right after a substantial snow when sounds are muffled and the world seems so peaceful and clean.

  2. Tracy
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 10:13:27

    Yay, a giveaway! I’ll admit I still haven’t done one on my blog yet, but I really want to.

    The thing I like most about winter is the cozy feeling of being inside and snuggling up on the couch with some hot cocoa and a blanket. 😉

  3. Melissa T
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 11:16:34

    My favorite thing about winter is making soup! There is nothing more comforting when it is wet and cold outside than to sit down to a steaming bowl of hot soup.

  4. Danna Snider
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 11:27:53

    That’s so cute Karen! I feel bad I haven’t knitted or blogged in forever.

    So my favorite thing about Winter is getting to wear beautiful hand knitted scarves! :))

  5. Rita
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 13:11:19

    (To be sung to the melody of “These are a few of my favorite things”)
    Snowflakes on branches and
    warm woolen socks,
    knitting them evenings
    while watching (or not watching) TV
    Children out sledding
    me indoors watching
    These are a few of my favorite things
    When the snow falls
    They call school off
    When I’m feeling cold
    I simply stay inside
    and read or knit
    And then I don’t feel so bad.

    (Did you sing it?)

  6. Caleb Thompson
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 13:26:52

    Hey Aunt Karen
    I don’t have a scarf so I need to win this!
    My favorite part of winter is pulling Anna on the sled and hitting her with snowballs!

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Feb 02, 2010 @ 13:45:57

      It might be a little bit girly for you, Caleb, but you’re entered anyway! (:

  7. Caleb Thompson
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 14:25:41

    It won’t be for me. If I win, it will be for Lydia for her late birthday present. I could’t say that orginally because she was standing next to be when I entered.

  8. Heather
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 16:04:30

    My favorite thing about winter is that it pretty much happens to the rest of the country, and I get to go to the beach. (You don’t have to enter me for the neck warmer, I just wanted to comment.)

  9. Thelma
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 16:33:35

    OOh… that looks delightfully warm!
    My favourite part of winter is waking up in the winter in a delicious cocoon of blankets and only the tip of my nose is cold.
    My least favourite part of the winter is crawling out of that cocoon and facing the rest of winter. 🙂

  10. Amy
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 17:21:34

    My favorite part of winter is snuggling on the couch with my little guys with a warm blanket heaped on top of us.

  11. Chef
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 17:55:30

    What I love about Winter!? What’s not to love! Everything!

  12. Amy
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 01:23:16

    My favorite part of winter is wearing cute neckwarmers. 🙂

  13. Kim
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 09:38:23

    [hands waving wildly]
    PICK ME! PICK ME!

    Although to be honest, if I win I’ll be gifting it. Because this middle-aged, hormonally super-charged neck doesn’t like anything on it. EVER.

  14. lars and maria
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 13:51:21

    How wonderful Karen! It looks so cool with the button on it.

    The thing that I love about winter is the way the sun catches on snow and makes it sparkly like diamonds glistening. I also like all the great, hearty food we eat and then wearing sweaters to hide the evidence on the waistline.

  15. Angie
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 14:12:45

    What I love about winter is the peaceful feeling new fallen snow brings to our city! It’s quiet and cozy in my little winter world!

    Thanks for having this give-away! The neck warmer looks wonderful!

  16. Amber
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 19:06:40

    I am from southern california…so until recently, when my family and I moved to the east coast, winter was the same as the rest of the year. Snow is still a novelty to me…but I really love watching my three year old make snow angels and have a blast in the snow.

  17. Trudy
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 21:28:56

    The thing I love about winter is the hore frost on the trees on the really cold mornings. It lasts most of the day and gives lots of enjoyment.

  18. Liisa
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 01:27:13

    Winter is the unusual light of very cold air and colors pale and certain. I am amazed at how dynamic the experience of the cold is. It changes me. The first moments of Freezing are shocked and shaky, while next comes rosy cheeks and readiness. It gets Even Colder and then warms back up to Freezing, and suddenly Freezing feels like spring -a promise of melting as all the capillaries of Winter’s heart are about to get merry at the thought of pumping their way down intricate and lacey rivelets, eventually rushing altogether into the sea.

    Love to you, Karen, Thanks for asking such a good question.

  19. Dolores
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 11:54:28

    Beautiful neck scarf Karen! My favorite thing of winter is the snow. As you know we don’t get it that often here in southern IN. It’s even more special when grandkids are in and we can go to the neighbors and sled down their big hill. I had as much fun as they did; maybe more :>)

    You don’t need to enter my name in the drawing either. Just had to comment HOW MUCH I LIKE SNOW.

  20. Dolores
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 12:26:35

    Forgot to mention about the 7-8″ snow we had last weekend. Karen called to say she heard we were to get 8″. I just laughed and said they were predicting 1-2″ here. Imagine our surprise when getting up sat, morning. Guess I’ll contact the meterologist (sp?) in Indy next time.

