Monday Meal: Wings & Nachos

On Monday, we were still celebrating the Indianapolis Colts’ victory over the New York Jets, and the Colts’ upcoming trip to the Superbowl.  So we thought it would be a great idea to have Superbowl food for our meal.

Chef was in charge of the wings, and I was in charge of the nachos.

He used several different sauces:  a spicy sauce,

a sweet honey mango sauce,

and good old barbecue sauce.

He fried the wings in oil, and then smothered them in sauce.

Meanwhile, I cut up the celery.

I also made a Creamy Southwest dip, good with raw veggies or with chips.  It’s very easy:  use one package of cream cheese (softened), one 8 ounce container of sour cream, and one package of taco seasoning.  Beat together with an electric mixer.  That’s it!  Our friend Gina called it “The Best Dip in the World.”

For the nachos, I spread tortilla chips on a cookie sheet, then topped it with cheese sauce (from a mix Chef picked up at GFS — Gordon Food Service); browned ground venison which was seasoned with taco seasoning, chili powder, and salt; some minced red onion; and diced tomatoes.  Later, I ran out of the onion and tomatoes and just used salsa instead.  That was just as good if not better.  Then I put the pan in the oven on about 450 for 10 or 15 minutes.

We also offered the salsa on its own, for eating with extra tortilla chips.

It was a good evening.  And on February 7 when the Colts play the Saints in Miami, it’s just possible we’ll have this same meal all over again.

Go Colts!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 11:19:13

    Great photos!
    Is that the menu for our Superbowl/Birthday bash?
    Sounds good to me.

  2. Tracy
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 14:37:49

    Mmmmm. Can I just say that I love football food? I am counting down the days until the Super Bowl party we’re going to and all the delicious food. 🙂

    I love the idea of “venison nachos.” I really want to try it!

  3. Kim
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 22:59:28

    Not a football fan but I always enjoyed the Superbowl parties because of the great food 🙂 Looks like y’all had plenty of that.

