As He Sleeps

My darling husband is a great conversationalist.  He’s especially funny when he’s asleep.

This morning as he snoozed, I kissed him before I left for work.  “I love you,” I said.  “I’ll see you later.”

“Where are you going?” he asked.

“To work,” I replied.

“Okay…. Specifically?”

“Specifically?” I questioned.

“Yeah.”

“The doctors’ office,” I said.  Aside from the one day a week when I work at Chef’s shop, the doctors’ office is the only place I work.

By then he had woken up a little bit.  “Oh,”  he laughed.  “Of course.”

When we were engaged, I was visiting Chef at his apartment in Michigan.  He had been going to classes and working like mad, and he was falling asleep.  I don’t remember what I had said to him, but he replied, “My wife won’t be crazy.  She’ll have appropriate chunkage.”

Just a few years ago, Chef and I were lying in bed and he reached over to hold my hand, but in his sleepy state, he couldn’t find it.  “Where are your hands?” he asked.

I laughed.  “They’re at the ends of my arms, where they always are,” I joked.

“Be careful,” he admonished me.  “They will turn into coins in twenty-one days.”

He was cracking me up.  “My hands are going to turn into coins in twenty-one days?”

“Yes,” he assured me.

“Why are my hands going to turn into coins in twenty-one days?” I asked.

He replied, as if it were the most obvious thing in the world, “Because of the power of milk.”

Who knew milk was so powerful?

And who knew sleep could be such an adventure?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. RainyDaySaver
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 15:17:59

    My husband and I BOTH talk in our sleep like this. I should set a recorder one night, I can’t imagine what we’ll be saying!

  2. Thelma
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 16:33:54

    Oh goodness… that’s awesome! Len does this too… although his are more brief snippets, never full length conversations. My favourite: ‘This is a bowling ball, and THIS is how you use it!’

  3. Rita
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 17:47:32

    Just learned today that Kayla, when she is stressed like a few days before competition, will get up and take off her pants, walk around, say strange things, but if yelled at to go back to bed will do so. Something to keep in mind for when she goes to college.

  4. Kim
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 14:53:53

    Too funny! Thoroughly enjoyed laughing my way through this post 🙂

  5. Sharon
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 11:11:11

    I really laughed while reading this! Daniel does that too! I thought something was wrong with him but am now comforted …or not. Maybe the crazy genes were passed on…

