Made for Me

I’m a complete sap.

I didn’t used to be this way.  There was a time when I eschewed chick flicks.  I scoffed at sappy songs.

Now, the commercials about the abandoned animals make me cry.  Darn cute puppies with darn Sarah McLachlin music.

I work in a doctors’ office, and part of my job is entering patients’ demographic information into the computer system.  I put in the patient’s insurance information, social security number, address… and marital status.  And when I have to put in a W, I honestly tear up.

See?  I told you I’m a sap.

Late in my college years, I decided I was never going to get married.  “Who needs a man?” I thought.  I was going to get my Master’s degree and become a Super-Teacher, and devote my extra energy to being the best Auntie in the world.

And then I met this guy.  This guy who was a big goofball who couldn’t have a serious conversation.  This guy who told bad jokes at every turn.

This guy who was a great dancer.

And who was a patient teacher.  And sweet.  And supportive, and interesting, and funny.

And doggone it if I didn’t fall in love with him.

Recently, I read a novel in which, at the end, you find out the woman is a widow.  I sobbed.  Just flat out bawled.  Because I can’t imagine life without Chef.

I have informed God on numerous occasions that the deal is that He is to take Chef and me simultaneously.

God has neither confirmed nor denied that He agrees with my plan.

Chef and I fit together perfectly.  He has strengths where I have weaknesses.  I have strengths where he has weaknesses.  When I am wishy-washy, he is decisive.  When he is messy, I am organized.  He gets on the roof when it is required.  I do the laundry.  He cleans the stove.  I mow the grass.  He does the grocery shopping.  I shovel snow.  We laugh together, have adventures together, talk about serious things together.

What a silly girl I was, to have had such a chip on my shoulder when I was in my “I don’t need a man” phase.  I mean, I didn’t need a man.  But God knew my life would be better with Chef.  He matched us up, and I’m thankful.

I’m not one who thinks that in all the whole wide world, there is only one person that I could possibly be compatible with, and if that chance had been missed I’d be alone forever.  But I am glad that Chef and I found each other.  He’s the best match I could imagine.

I’m feeling a little extra sappy today.

It’s okay; I’m creeping up on middle-age, and maybe you just get extra sappy as you get older.  I seem to, anyway.

And I’m feeling extra thankful for my husband today.

I love you, bunny.

You make me smile like the sun
Fall out of bed, sing like bird
Dizzy in my head, spin like a record
Crazy on a Sunday night
You make me dance like a fool
Forget how to breathe
Shine like gold, buzz like a bee
Just the thought of you can drive me wild
Ohh, you make me smile

(“Smile” by Uncle Kracker)


12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 10:15:45

    sappy is good

  2. Andrea
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 10:51:16

    I love it! We need more real life romance and less novels about people who could never exist.

  3. Rita
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 11:11:06

    Awwwwww, dat was so sweet. I’m all teary now.

  4. Mike
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 11:30:35

    Ok, that’s just to good to not comment!

    Just where did you get all this writing talent and WHY aren’t your rich and famous?

    So there.

  5. Talley Mac
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 12:59:50

    aww. Sappy is good…B/c you are a very blessed lady with such a great hubby…

    I like sappy…

  6. Tracy
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 13:01:20

    Awww. 🙂

  7. Kim
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 15:12:58

    So sweet 🙂 I’m very glad God brought you together too.

  8. Nikki
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 15:45:31

    *Sniff* Love you guys… esp. together… 🙂

  9. Amy
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 16:20:18

    Definitely sappy. But since you’re coming up on your 10th anniversary, I’d say you’re way overdue for some good, old-fashioned sap.

    And I’m glad you found him, too. He’s a great guy!

  10. Leah Sower
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 21:08:30

    That was absolutely beautiful and while I was reading it I heard Sarah M. singing int he background which in turn I was the sappy one reading with a smile on my face a little teary and so full of joy for you both , what love … inspirering (sp)
    Love you both

  11. Heather
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 16:54:14

    I don’t think it was sappy at all. I think it was beautiful. I love seeing men and women publicly admire and appreciate their spouses. I’d love to see more of that in the world! Great post, K.

