Monday Meal: Baked Potatoes and Crepes

Once again, I am photo-less for this post.  Sigh.  I’m a bad, bad blogger.  I left my camera card at the office.  I had the camera, but no memory card.  Phooey.

But in general, it was a lazy Monday night.  Chef and I had gotten back home late from a weekend in northern Indiana / southern Michigan.  As I mentioned previously, we drove up Friday.  I ran a 5K Saturday, then we hung out and ate fabulous football food while we watched the Colts beat the Ravens.  Sunday was Chef’s ice carving competition, and after that we ate and hung out with his parents and some old family friends, attended the awards ceremony, went back to the cousins’ house where we watched more football (Jets over Chargers) and ate more wonderful food.  It was 10:30 by the time we got home.  I still had to go to work on Monday (my regular 6:30 – 5:00 day), and while Chef took the day off, he was still tired and sore from the competition.

So he decided on an easy meal.  We had been given lots and lots of potatoes over the last few weeks, so baked potatoes seemed the obvious option.  Chef made a cheesy bechemel, which is a white sauce (my mother always called it “milk gravy” and that’s basically what it is), to which he added cream cheese and sausage, to put on the potatoes.  We also had fresh mozzarella, sour cream, and Polish sausage for the potatoes.  Chef also made crepes, and he offered them as savory or sweet crepes.  If you wanted them savory, you could use the bechemel on them.  I wanted them sweet, though, so I topped them with peaches and whipped cream.

I know making baked potatoes isn’t exactly rocket science, but we make them a little differently than most people do, and I like them better this way.

Chef & Karen’s Baked Potatoes:

Lightly coat potatoes in oil.  Olive oil is probably best as it gives the best flavor, but whatever oil you have on hand is fine, though I don’t recommend motor oil or baby oil.  However, vegetable, canola, sunflower, corn — any of those oils are good.  Then sprinkle Kosher salt on the potatoes.  Sea salt would work okay, too, but it’s not as coarse as Kosher salt, and it would be easy to oversalt the potatoes.  Put the potatoes in a pan, such as a 9×13 cake pan.  Do not cover the potatoes or wrap them in foil.  By leaving them open, the skins will get nice and crisp, which is precisely why I like this method better than baking them in foil or in the microwave.  I like the skins crisp.  Bake the potatoes on about 400 F for about an hour or until they are done all the way through.

I like them topped with LOTS of stuff — sour cream, cheese (especially sharp Cheddar), bacon, sauteed onions & mushrooms, butter, green onions or chives.  YUM.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 11:46:00

    Too bad, I could’ve taken some pictures for you or let you use my camera.
    See ya’ lator 🙂

  2. Tracy
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 16:53:14

    When I first saw your title, I saw “Baked Potato Crepes,” and now I am totally going to try that sometime, haha. I also want to try baked potatoes the way you make them – crispy skins sound delicious!

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Jan 25, 2010 @ 16:58:00

      Now THAT would have been interesting!

      I know, baked potatoes and crepes in the same meal sounds very strange… and it was kind of strange, but they were both EASY which is exactly what we needed!

      Crispy skins are the best, in my opinion. They aren’t totally crunchy or burned, but they aren’t soggy and wilty like if you wrap them in foil. I hope you like them crispy!

