Crazy Eights: IV

1. I can remember being grounded by my mother only one time in my life.  (I was a pretty good kid.)  The reason I was grounded was because my mom got sick and tired of me fighting with my sister Amy all the time.  For the record, Amy got grounded, too.

2. Amy is three and a half years older than I am.  So we went to school together when I was in Kindergarten through third grade, and then again when I was a freshman in high school, and when I was a freshman in college.  (We went to the same university.)

3. When we were growing up, Amy and I had a love/hate relationship.  It was all or nothing — best friends or mortal enemies.  We never got into fistfights — we fought the way girls so often do: saying mean things, having bad attitudes, or just being nasty to one another.  But when we were getting along, we had the best time together.

4. Even when we weren’t getting along, I remember getting really mad when someone else was mean to Amy.  After all, I can say what I want to about my sister, but YOU had better watch your mouth.

5. In high school, Amy set an example for me by not putting up with a teacher who was doing ridiculous things.  I think this is what emboldened me to stand up to a different teacher a year later.

6. Amy was always the athletic one in the family.  She played basketball in middle school and soccer from middle to high school.  I think she even ran track for a while.  In retrospect, I realize she wasn’t the best player out there, but I always thought of her as tough and athletic.  It is only now that I feel like I have any athleticism, and she has no time for athletics anymore.  I feel like we missed out on being athletic together.

7. It’s kind of ridiculous that Amy lives about 45 minutes away from me, but we see each other only about two or three times a year.  I guess it’s just that life is busy and overwhelming sometimes, and it’s hard for either of us to schedule time to get together.  But I know that if I ever had a major need, she would do what she could to help me out.  I hope she knows that about me, too.

8. It’s Amy’s birthday today.  Happy birthday, seester!

This photo is from 1979. I’m on the left, and Amy’s on the right.  Incidentally, I was wearing my very favorite pants.  The Jack’o’lantern was wearing his very favorite hat.  I don’t know how Amy felt about what she was wearing.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 12:00:39

    Thanks, sis!

    By the way, when I see that picture of you, I realize how much Julia looks like you….lucky gal!

  2. Dolores
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 23:17:20

    Such memories …..I love you both dearly.

  3. Sue
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 17:12:23

    LOL at the last sentence. Actually, GOL – Paula & I came up with that – “giggling out loud”.

