Loving Winter

Chef loves winter.  I am not sure if he loved it before he was an ice sculptor, or if the thrill of competition season (which occurs January through March) did it.  I’m pretty sure he loved it before, though.  He likes heavy snowfalls, and doing donuts in parking lots when the pavement is icy.

I like those parts of winter, too.  Snow makes me smile, and while I can’t do donuts in my all-wheel-drive station wagon, I do enjoy it when I’m a passenger in Chef’s car.  After I get past the terror, of course.

But right now, winter isn’t so nice.  The sparkly snow has mostly melted, leaving only dirty piles in the corners of parking lots.  There’s a wet, bone-chilling cold — the damp, hovering-around-freezing cold instead of the nice dry cold that comes when it’s 20 or even 10 degrees.  And the sun?  I have vague memories of that shining orb, but he’s been MIA for a while.

I keep thinking to myself that we’re over halfway through January, and then February is a short month, and with March comes the beginning of spring!  But I don’t want to just hang on until the temps warm up and I can run outside again and the blue skies return.  I want to enjoy this time!

I got a new haircut in December and lived on compliments for a couple of weeks.  I bought some yarn last week and finished one knitting project and am ready to start on the next one.  Seeing the red Netflix envelope in the mailbox almost always cheers me up.  If the Colts win their next game, Sunday will be a very happy day.  And I’m trying to stay active by going to the gym.

What do you do to keep your spirits up when the weather is gloomy?  Give me tips!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Jan 20, 2010 @ 10:59:44

    Chef-son was born during a snow storm. Did that condition him for life?
    What do I do? Keep plodding on, I guess, not much different.
    I do love the restfulness of winter, like sleeping in ’cause it’s cold, staying indoors and looking out, knitting warm things…

  2. Cristina Elizabeth
    Jan 20, 2010 @ 11:46:30

    I take advantage of the fact that it’s soup weather, since I love soup! And baking too… I also really like winter clothes; tights and boots and coats. Other than the food and the clothes of winter I really don’t like winter.

  3. Tracy
    Jan 20, 2010 @ 14:40:56

    I like to bake; to me there’s nothing better than filling a cold house with warmth from the oven and the delicious smell of fresh-baked bread or something sweet. I also like to quilt. And can jams and jellies.

    So basically, I’m an 83 year old grandma, haha. 😉

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Jan 21, 2010 @ 08:55:44

      I took your suggestion and made some bread last night. It did make me a little bit happy.

  4. Heather
    Jan 20, 2010 @ 17:25:29

    I don’t know if that picture was supposed to convey the bleakness of winter or what, but it’s gorgeous! I think it’s one of your best, K!

    I have no comments about winter weather. I’d hate for you to fly all the way down here just to smack me. Love ya!

  5. Dolores
    Jan 20, 2010 @ 23:33:40

    Donuts in the snow? Clue? Never heard of them.
    I do love winter and snow. Unfortunately we don’t get that much in Evansville.
    Love to you and Chef

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Jan 21, 2010 @ 08:53:56

      Doing donuts is when you spin your car around (on purpose) on the snow or ice. It works best with rear-wheel-drive cards, but Chef makes it happen by getting up a little speed, pulling up the parking brake, and turning the steering wheel hard to one side. Wheeeee!

      • Chef
        Jan 22, 2010 @ 12:31:19

        honey, you’re scaring them…i really am a pretty conservative driver (now)…too many defensive driving classes!

