Savage’s Ale House

Last Friday, I had just gotten home from work and Chef called me.  “Hey,” he said, “I still have a lot of carving to do.  But I was thinking if I come home around eight o’clock, then I can take you on a date.”

“Sounds good,” I replied.  “Are you thinking of an Applebee’s date?”  We had gotten an Applebee’s gift card for Christmas.

“Actually, there’s this place downtown Muncie called Savage’s Ale House.”

“Oh yeah, I’ve seen it,” I said.

“Well, I hear they have good, cheap bar food.”

So that’s what we did.  I found myself a snack to tide me over, fed the dogs, and knitted while I watched a little television.  Chef came home a little after 8:00, and off we went to Savage’s.

Chef ordered a Pabst Blue Ribbon (they sell a lot of it there, and while it’s not his favorite beer, it was cheap and he figured he’d blend with the local culture.)  I ordered a Woodchuck Amber, which they have on tap.  I don’t think I’ve ever had a Woodchuck on tap before — only out of bottles.  Of course, I’m not really the bar-hopping type.

We looked over the menu and had a hard time deciding.  The items offered could be fabulous — or terrible — depending on how they are prepared.  I went for the Deluxe Burger (no pickle) with a side of onion rings, and Chef decided on the incongruous combination of School Pizza and Biscuits-n-Gravy.

Having had my fill of School Pizza when I was in school, I didn’t taste it, but it must have been good because Chef ate it all.  The burger was excellent.  In my opinion, it had the perfect amount of meat — not so much that I felt stuffed, but enough so that I didn’t feel like it was all bun and no burger.  I’m a huge fan of onion rings, so I was excited that Savage’s doesn’t charge extra for rings.  And the rings were nice and hot and crispy.

Now, Chef and I make the best biscuits and gravy in the world (especially when my biscuits actually rise), so we weren’t sure what we’d think of Savage’s version.  But they make the gravy from scratch, and they put sausage in it (the only way to go!) and while it was perhaps not quite as good as Chef’s, it was pretty darn close, and probably the best restaurant biscuits and gravy we’ve had.

Not to mention a rather unusual offering for a bar.

At least, I think so.  Did I mention I don’t do much bar-hopping?

Chef’s brother later told us the tenderloin sandwich is also extremely good.  That’s what I’m getting next time.  I love me a breaded tenderloin sandwich.  It’s part of being a Hoosier.

The total cost for the two beers and all the food was less than $18.  I know this because we took the cash from the Date Envelope to pay for it, and we had only $18 to work with.

If you’re ever in Muncie, Indiana, mosey on over to the corner of High and Washington streets downtown, and check it out.

Don’t bother to tell them I sent you.  They don’t have any idea who I am.

Photo courtesy of Savage’s Ale House’s Facebook page.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jon Hoyt
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 17:49:40

    Sounds really good! I wish we had a cheap bar with yummy food to go to!

    Looking forward to football food Saturday night? I make some mean wings and nachos 🙂

  2. Kim
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 22:12:09

    Good thing I’m eating while I read blogs because otherwise your post would have sent me straight to the fridge 🙂

    I’ve tried making my own breakfast sausage so I can then make biscuits and gravy but so far I haven’t found quite the right combination of spices. Not awful, but not great either. Does Chef have any suggestions/ideas for how I could season ground pork in order to get something close to the Bob Evans flavor?

    Yes, the key turns on the lights. Unfortunately it also turns on the a.c. Which means we always return to a hot, stuffy suite. Oh well. Monday was ridiculously hot but it’s been much more moderate since then so it cools down faster.

    BTW, am eating a most delicious piece of chocolate cake with some kind of fluffy fruity filling and shaved chocolate on top. We’ve seen this cake at a bakery every day this week and finally bought a few slices to bring back to the hosteria tonight. It was too hot outside (most places have outdoor seating since few places have a.c.) and we were just too tired so decided to bring it “home” and kick back. Ahhhh, life is good 🙂

    P.S. You might pray that our car gets fixed quickly and it’s not too expensive. We’re having to get the alternator rebuilt. *sigh*

  3. rita
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 13:18:04

    This was a fun read. i must have missed it yesterday.
    Nice break from cleaning Mother’s fridge. Better get back at it.

