The Gazelle

When Chef and I read Dave Ramsey’s The Total Money Makeover in May of 2009, our entire outlook and attitude toward money and communication about money changed.  We jumped on the bandwagon and became Ramsey Evangelists.  (Chef overheard me telling someone on the phone about living on a written budget, and after I hung up, he jokingly asked me, “Who are you proselytizing now?”)

The other, unexpected effect is that Chef’s been thinking a lot about gazelles lately.  Dave talks about being “gazelle intense” about getting out of debt — running from debt like a gazelle runs from a cheetah.  I was feeling discouraged one day about the long road ahead of us, so for inspiration I printed out a picture of a gazelle and put it up in our kitchen where I would be sure to see it every day.  I don’t know if it was that photo that inspired Chef, or if it was something else, but he’s been drawing gazelles ever since.

And January through early March is competition season for ice sculptors, and Chef is going to use this inspiration in his competition.

And I can’t help but be proud of my husband.  He’s got amazing artistic talent.  Look at how delicate this design is!

But more than that, he is working hard alongside me so that we will be free of our consumer debt by the end of November 2011.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 11:32:51

    That gazelle is simply gorgeous! What great inspiration!

    Also, I wanted to let you know that I passed along the Happy 101 award to you, because it makes me happy every time you blog! http://sugarcrafter.net/2010/01/12/more-blog-love/

  2. Heather
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 12:06:12

    That is truly a beautiful sculpture. Chef is very talented. And blessed to have you as his wife. 🙂

  3. rita
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 18:45:28

    Ditto!!
    What a gorgeous photo you were able to get!
    I tried last night on our way to MNM but got no way near your results. Of course, the gazelle is a few days older now, melting and drooping a bit.

  4. Talley Mac
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 21:58:02

    wow! that is awesome! CHEF ROCKS! 🙂

  5. Money Funk
    Jan 15, 2010 @ 16:21:02

    Can’t wait to see Chef’s ice sculpture!

    And I have no doubt you will get out of debt on or ahead of schedule. 😉

