A Dog’s Life

My dogs are very busy.

Gryffon must watch out the window to keep me safe from passersby.

Like dangerous nine-year-old boys riding bikes, or sinister middle-aged women walking Golden Retrievers.  He will bark furiously to warn me of the danger.

Gracie needs to investigate what’s going on.  Sometimes that means barking at whatever Gryffon’s barking at.  Sometimes it means chewing on pieces of wood.  Sometimes it means sniffing the trash.

Sometimes it means sticking her nose at my camera.

All this work makes the dogs very sleepy.

Gryffon likes his bed — when he can get it.  Gracie is rather a brat and often tries to bully him off of it.

But Gracie also likes her crate.

And in the winter, she especially likes the spot on the rug by the fire.

Because being a dog is very, very hard work.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 11:10:08

    Aww, so cute!

    Sometimes I wish I had my cat’s life…snuggling on blankets all day, playing with toys, and sleeping whenever I want. 😛

  2. Rita
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 11:50:52

    Is that where the expression “work like a dog” comes from?
    Those are great photos of my granddogs!

    • Chef
      Jan 07, 2010 @ 12:52:31

      I would think that expression stemmed from the tireless work of sleddogs in Northern Frontier areas….just read Call of the Wild…great insight into hard-working dogs.

  3. Amy
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 15:56:45

    I’m thinking “It’s a dog’s life!” is much more appropriate. Wish I could curl up in front of the fire for a nap….but that would require a working fireplace. sigh.

  4. Trackback: Ferocious « Small Town Runner
