57

Sunday I went to church.  All through the service, my feet were freezing.  I put my coat over my legs like a blanket, hoping that would help my feet feel warmer, but it didn’t.

I came home, changed into warmer and more comfortable clothes, and started a fire in the wood stove.  That helped take the edge off, but my feet were still cold.

Two blankets, a cup of hot chocolate and a bowl of hot bean soup later, I was finally getting warm.  But eventually that bean soup wore off, and I was curled up in a little ball, sitting on my feet, and covering myself with the blankets as much as possible.

Finally, I had to go sit directly in front of the fire.  That definitely helped.

But later, I wanted to hang out with my husband.  I wanted to watch TV with him.  And the TV is in the next room — NOT right by the fire.  And it was cold in there.

And then, Chef made the suggestion: “Do you think we should turn up the heat?”

So we did.  He bumped it up from 50 to 55.  It was much better.  But we were still chilly.

So we bumped it up again, this time to 57.

My toes were no longer frozen.  I could sit on the couch without twelve blankets on top of me.  I could uncover my hands so that I could knit.

It was marvelous.

We’re going to try to keep the thermostat at 57, turning it back down to 50 at night or when we’re not home.  Yes, our gas bill will increase, but good golly.  It’s going to be 11 degrees later this week.  And I’m sure if you live in Canada or Alaska, you may be scoffing at my wimpiness.  You probably go swimming when it’s 11 degrees.  But I was cold.

And now, I’m not so cold.

I’m happy to have the heat at 57 degrees.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 11:49:23

    We had to bump ours up too. When it’s 7 degrees outside, you just have to or you’ll freeze!

  2. Money Funk
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 12:02:11

    LOL. Your gas bill won’t be that expensive bumping it up to 57 degrees. When I am cold, I set our heater at that temp. Seems to work nicely for taking the edge off.

    But I can’t complain – its been close to 80 degrees during the day and 55-60 at night. *spoiled*

  3. Heather
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 15:36:21

    57 degrees? I don’t even have a comment for that. I won’t tell you what we wimpy Floridians set our heat on when the temps drop into the 30’s here, like they did this week. Let’s just say it’s not 57 degrees.

  4. Rita
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 12:43:17

    I wish I had finished your socks by now.
    Would you believe it, I had to rip the one half way down due to a step I overlooked by being overconfident and going ahead without checking the pattern. 😦

  5. RainyDaySaver
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 20:42:57

    And I thought we were the “cool” couple at 62 degrees! I just get too cold to deal with the thermostat being any lower than that.

