Crazy Eights: III (The New Year’s Resolution Edition)

1. One year I made a resolution to learn American Sign Language.  I signed up for a class at my church.  The teacher really didn’t teach me much of anything.  I was very discouraged.

2. Another year I decided I wanted to learn Spanish.  I signed up for a class at the local community college.  I got it approved with my employer to leave early one day a week and everything.  I showed up for class the first day and found out it had been canceled because not enough people enrolled.

3. I have given up on making resolutions to learn another language.

4. Yoga is something I said I wanted to learn.  I took a yoga class for about a year and a half.  I loved it, but the commitment became overwhelming.  I’d like to do it again.  I’m hoping the new YMCA that is opening just a mile from my house will offer a yoga class at a time when I can attend.

5. I decided once that I wanted to learn to knit.  I did it.

6. Usually, my New Year’s Resolution is not to make any resolutions.

7.  Maybe my resolution should be to get my hair cut more than once a year.  My hair has been seriously out of hand this year.

8. I prefer long-term goals to New Year’s Resolutions.  Less pressure.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Jan 01, 2010 @ 12:37:38

    Now you know your SIL can cut your hair, so go for it as often as you need.
    You must be working today.
    Looooooong term resolutions–sounds good to me.
    But, how long do I have?

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Jan 02, 2010 @ 16:06:23

      No, I wasn’t at work. I just finally figured out how to schedule a post so I don’t have to be at a computer when I want to publish it.

  2. Kim
    Jan 01, 2010 @ 20:50:05

    http://radiolingua.com/shows/spanish/coffee-break-spanish/

    really, really good beginning spanish course you can get online; podcasts with 15-20 min. lessons, plus written materials and so on.

    if i were just starting to learn Spanish, this is the course I’d take.

  3. Tracy @ Sugarcrafter
    Jan 02, 2010 @ 15:07:47

    I feel like every year I’ve had a resolution, I’ve always failed…so this year I’m thinking about making just a few small goals. Maybe I’ll actually meet one!

  4. Lisa Ashby
    Jan 03, 2010 @ 18:13:05

    Go for the haircut. I did, and now I don’t know why I waited so long! LOL

