Ta-Da! The Sweater!

I’ve been working on Stephan’s sweater for a few months now.  The idea of it intimidated me, but it wasn’t really quite as difficult as I’d feared.  I finally finished all the pieces (the front, the back, and each sleeve) and was ready to sew them together.  I’ve never really sewn knitted pieces together, so this was an adventure.

I got the shoulder seams sewn, so the front and back were together.

Then I stitched the sleeves on.  (I know the color looks totally different in the photo above as compared to the photo below.  Must have been the lighting.  I think the photo above gives a more accurate representation of the true color.)

No I was ready for the side seams.  First, I pinned them together.  Pinning yarn isn’t very easy.

Then I sewed the seam in a whip-stitch.  I don’t know if this was the correct stitch to use, but it seemed the least likely to pull, so that’s what I did.

Finally, I had it all stitched together!  (It’s inside out in this next photo.  And in the upper left corner?  That’s my dog’s tail.)

Now it was time to knit the collar on.  This is what I was really nervous about.

I used a circular needle.  Interesting aside: I got almost all my knitting supplies (needles, stitch counters, stitch holders, stitch markers, crochet hooks) from my aunt after she died.  It wasn’t that she left them to me (I was only 13 when she passed away, and I wasn’t even thinking about knitting back then), but one of her sisters had the stuff and didn’t really need it.  So when I started knitting, my Aunt Lynn passed on to me the things that my other aunt, Sister Mary Denise (she was a nun) had used when she was living.  Lynn didn’t need them.  I’m honored to have these things.  I remember Mary Denise always having needlework — either knitting or crocheting — in her hands.  She was constantly knitting, and as children we always received some kind of craft from her for Christmas.  I remember an orange and white cardigan she made for me that I loved.  I also remember a Nativity set that she made — all knitted and stuffed, which was great for small children to play with.

Anyway, the circular needle I used was from Mary Denise’s things.  You can tell by the packaging how old it is!

In order to make the collar, I had to pick up 80 stitches evenly around the neck.  This was NOT easy.  I nearly cussed about four times.  I did cuss at least once.  (But look!  I figured out how to use the aperture on my camera!)

Finally, I got the stitches on, pretty evenly (though not perfectly).

And I knitted the collar.  (And there’s the sweater looking olive green again.  It really isn’t olive green.)

When I got to the end, it looked really crooked!  I was not very happy!

But in finishing the collar, I managed to fix it.

Finally, the sweater was complete!

And it was ready for Chef to wear.

Doesn’t he look handsome?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Money Funk
    Dec 16, 2009 @ 13:57:46

    Looks very warm on Chef! Great job.

    I just started crocheting again and I’m just trying to get on my second row executing a double crochet. Oy vey!

  2. Jon Hoyt
    Dec 16, 2009 @ 16:09:01

    Looks great!

  3. Dolores
    Dec 16, 2009 @ 17:22:45

    Fantastic! What’s next? Sister Mary Denise would be proud of you.

  4. Talley Mac
    Dec 16, 2009 @ 19:58:04

    I’m really impressed K!! It looks awesome!!! WTG!!

  5. Amy
    Dec 16, 2009 @ 22:36:59

    Way to go! It looks fabulous.

    Oh and that Nativity set that’s great for kids to play with? I have it, and I must tell you, the Magi’s gifts and the angel’s arms ain’t what they used to be.

  6. rita
    Dec 17, 2009 @ 00:09:21

    That is one fancy sweater! Perfect for Chef!
    You made your goal!
    (Will I meet my deadline?)

  7. Lisa Ashby
    Dec 17, 2009 @ 14:45:34

    Simply gorgeous! 🙂

  8. Tracy
    Dec 17, 2009 @ 15:12:31

    Gorgeous sweater! I admire your work…I don’t think I have any knitting skills. 🙂

