Fifteen Minutes of Fame (or, Thanks @RamseyShow!)

So I mentioned that the other day, when I wrote about how we’re living like no one else, I tweeted it to @RamseyShow (the Twitter account for The Dave Ramsey Show), and Blake retweeted it.  (If you’re not on Twitter, that basically means that I sent a link to DR, and then Blake made it so that the link got sent to all DR’s followers, who then were able to click on the link to read my post.)  I got 423 hits that day!  To have such a big audience is very exciting for a person who would love to write for a living!

But even before that day, I had started drafting a post about some other cool thing that happened.  Below is the account of that cool thing:

Chef and I got a very exciting email the other day.  It was from Blair, who is a writer for Financial Peace University, the courses that Dave Ramsey created.

Remember that blog post I wrote about graduating FPU?  And the awesome ice sculpture Chef made that included our class members’ cut up credit cards?

Blair saw it.  (Well, Chef helped it along by emailing Dave Ramsey’s office.)  But the point is, Blair saw it.  And Blair is going to feature it in an e-newsletter that gets sent to all the FPU coordinators — with photos of our class, the ice sculpture, and Chef and me, plus a link to my blog.

I’m so excited I’m giddy.

In fact, I’m on the verge of giggling right this minute.

Tee hee.  Hee heeheeheehee!  Hee hee.  Ha.

<deeeep breath>

Okay, that’s over with.

*snicker*

My little old blog might actually get some more hits.

And my awesome hubby is going to get lots of people looking at his work.

Okay, so I know that he’s the one people want to see.  And they should.  He’s an incredible artist.

I mean, when people ask what I do for a living, and I say, “I work in a doctors’ office,” they reply, “Oh, are you a nurse?”

“No, I’m the administrative assistant.”

There is barely perceptible deflation and consternation on their faces.  But I detect it, because I’ve seen it a lot.

“Oh… what does that involve?” they politely ask.

“Some bookkeeping, working with medical billing, and basically shuffling papers around.”

“Oh.”  Silence.  “Do you enjoy that?”

“Not really.”

“Oh.”  Silence.  “What does your husband do?”

“He’s an ice sculptor.”

Then the light comes back into their faces and their eyes open wide and the conversation starts rolling about chainsaws and die grinders and Clinebell ice block machines and templates and walk-in freezers.

I don’t get no respect.

And really, I know that the reason this writer from FPU contacted us is because of Chef.  It’s his awesome ice sculpture that is unusual and creative and, well, cool.  (Ugh.  I can’t believe I just fell into the trap of saying that ice is cool.  Can I tell you how many times I’ve heard people say that his work is “cool!  Oh — no pun intended”?  No, I cannot tell you, because I cannot count that high.)

But surely, being married to him, some of that coolness rubs off on me, right?

Right?

Please?

And because of him, my little old blog is going to get some more hits.  I can feel it.  (Oh, and if I get permission, I’ll post Blair’s article, or a link to it, on the blog.  It’s supposed to come out in early January.)

So I’m totally pumped that 1) People are getting directed to my blog.  As I mentioned, my job, while a good job, isn’t something I want to do forever.  I would love to be writing, and maybe this will help me get started in doing that.  2) People are hearing about how we’re working to be debt-free, and maybe they’ll be inspired to do the same.  Maybe my little ol’ blog will get people excited about breaking free from the slavery of debt.  Even if all I do is point people to Dave Ramsey, that’s okay by me.  His books and radio show and Financial Peace University have literally changed our lives.  (And I don’t say “literally” meaning “figuratively.”  I really mean literally!)

So thanks, Dave and Blair and Blake, for giving us tools for living debt-free, and for noticing a small-town girl’s blog and her small-town hubby’s incredible artistic talent.  Even if this turns out to be just fifteen minutes of fame, I’m reveling in it right now, and in a couple of years, we’ll be debt free regardless of what happens with my job, my blog, and my writing.

And that’s pretty important.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jon Hoyt
    Dec 04, 2009 @ 10:59:38

    Congrats! I for one can say I’ve enjoyed reading your blog 🙂

  2. Tracy
    Dec 04, 2009 @ 12:49:15

    That’s so cool; congrats!! 😀

  3. Rita
    Dec 04, 2009 @ 16:23:31

    This post and its content are totally awesome, and I foresee MANY more moments of fame, and enjoyable work ahead! Yeah!!! I am sooooooooo cheering for you!

  4. Talley Mac
    Dec 06, 2009 @ 00:18:20

    Rock it sister!!! That is so cool (no pun intended. heh heh)…I’s so proud of u!!!

    I can say: that is my friend K and I knew her before her blog was famous!!!

    Loves ya!

  5. GaryDe
    Dec 06, 2009 @ 02:09:29

    enjoyed reading over your blog, and congrats!

  6. Lisa Ashby
    Dec 07, 2009 @ 22:45:35

    How totally, unbelievably cool! Congrats!

