Thanksgiving

Chef and I invited everyone to our house for Thanksgiving.  My parents, my two sisters, their husbands, and the combined fifteen nieces and nephews came, as well as Chef’s mom and dad and aunt, and a little later Chef’s brother and two of his boys.

It was a full house.

Caleb watched as my mom played Solitaire.

Isaac helped Chef make the bread.

Lydia got in on the action, too.

Josiah watched to make sure they were doing it right.

Jeff made sure everything ran smoothly in the living room.

Then it was time to eat!

Liver-n-onions.

Green beans.

Dressing and turkey.  Incidentally, this was Chef’s first experience making dressing.  He said he never liked it before, but had it a few weeks ago and enjoyed it, so he decided to make it.  I really liked it.  With some gravy on top, it was perfect.

My homemade noodles.  My niece saw them and said, “Ooooh, Grandma’s noodles.”  I said, “Oh, no.  These are Aunt Karen’s noodles!”  And my father-in-law raved about them.  On Thursday, and on Friday, and on the following Monday.  (Hey, there’s a recipe here!)

Cranberry sauce.  I liked this, but next year if I make cranberry sauce, I’m going to try this recipe by Tracy over at Sugarcrafter.  I hadn’t thought about putting cinnamon and ginger in it, and I bet that would make it fabulous.

Gravy.

My sister Amy’s wonderful salad.

My sister Michelle’s amazing deviled eggs.

And I didn’t even get photos of the mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, and all the pies.  It was ridiculous how much food we had.

Everyone gathered ’round so the eating could begin!

Afterward was a time of playing and talking.

Anna found my motorcycle helmet.

Here’s my sister Amy telling me that if I’m going to put these pictures on my blog, they’d better be good pictures.

Hee hee.

She’s gonna kill me for that one.

Julia didn’t have the day off, apparently.  She still had to get some office work done.  The phone, the keyboard, the clock, even a mug of some hot beverage were there to keep her on task.

Lucy and Rita worked in the kitchen, cleaning up.

The men were engrossed in conversation…

while the kids played.

And then the chess boards came out!

There’s the one semi-artistic shot I got the whole day.  Everyone kept moving, and it was hard to get good photos that didn’t blur!

So, who’s hosting next year?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Dec 03, 2009 @ 09:37:48

    Thankfully my pic is OK, I approve.
    Great memories! I think it should become an annual tradition. 😉

  2. Tracy
    Dec 03, 2009 @ 11:07:49

    Aww, thanks for the shout-out! 🙂 Looks like you had a fabulous Thanksgiving. I’m curious what kind of bread you made; it looks fun!

  3. Amy
    Dec 03, 2009 @ 23:24:30

    Thanks for putting that fab picture of me on your blog. Lucky for you I live an hour away.

  4. Talley Mac
    Dec 04, 2009 @ 00:12:29

    Looks like a ton of fun! I’m totally needing to post my pics from our family reunion!!!! And PS i love the snow on your blog!!!!

    Tell Chef I said HOWDY!

