Crazy Eights: I

1. When I was in Kindergarten, I decided I wanted to be a teacher when I grew up.  When I was in middle school, I decided I wanted to teach English.  My junior year in college, I freaked out because I’d never thought about doing anything except teaching English, and I was afraid I’d made a huge mistake.  I considered changing my major and going into meteorology, but I figured my parents might kill me.  I stayed in English Education.

2. I’ve been trying to figure out the aperture setting on my camera.  The problem is that no matter how I change the number, it always looks the same to me.  I’m not sure it’s working.  I’m frustrated, but determined to get it figured out.

3. Making yeast bread is a therapeutic experience for me.  I love kneading it.  It’s mindless, but it helps me work out my frustrations (like frustrations about not understanding how to work my camera.)  I can’t see myself ever using a mixer to knead my bread dough for me.  I haven’t had time to make bread recently, and my frustrations are piling up.  Soon I think I need to make some bread so my heart and mind can be at rest again.

4. Chef thinks it’s crazy how I can listen and look at him and continue typing at the same time.  I didn’t learn to type until I was a junior in high school, which was much later than most of my classmates.  And even then, I only took the typing class because I was going to major in English in college and knew I’d have a gazillion papers to write and hunt-and-peck was not going to work.  I would be in a world of hurt if I didn’t know how to type.

5.  I can’t remember the last movie I saw in the theatre.  I know it was on our anniversary in June, and I know it was raining and I know we drove down to the north side of Indianapolis to go to the big new movie theatre there, but I have no idea what the film was.*

7. I’ve been meditating on the following verse a lot lately: “The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me; your steadfast love, O Lord, endures forever.  Do not forsake the work of your hands.” Psalm 138:8

8. Facebook sucks far too much energy out of me.  I’ve had to cut back.

 

 

 

*After seeing a commercial for the upcoming release of the movie on DVD, I remembered that we saw Star Trek.  I liked it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Talley Mac
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 19:32:47

    LOL are you making your own schmozzles?

    My “chef” said the same thing about me typing and staring at him when he is talking! And Um, i’m feeling seriously left out of the blogroll…Getting a bit of a complex over here!!!

    Miss you!

    T

