Monday Meal: Curry

Sometimes, the thing that most excites me about Monday Meals is the food.  Sometimes, it’s the fellowship.

Just the smell of curry makes me faint with delight.  Then I taste it and collapse with happiness all over again.

But this week, I was really enjoying the fellowship, too.  This is Gina:

GinaGina brings her kids, KJ and DJ, just about every week.  KJ helps Chef prepare the food, and DJ does his homework, or reads books, or uses us all as subjects for his science project, or plays games.

The first thing Gina and I do whenever she arrives is to take the dogs for a walk.  Now that it’s November and we’ve changed back to standard time, it’s more of an adventure than it was this summer and earlier in the fall.  It was very nearly dark when we left, and definitely dark when we returned.  Instead of the park this week (since the park isn’t well-lit), we took a one-mile walk around town.  Due to the dark and her unfamiliarity with the town, Gina was completely lost.  (Mwah-ha-ha-ha-ha!)  I didn’t leave her, though.  All four of us (Gina, Gryffon, Gracie, and me) got safely home again.

This week, Gina brought her mother-in-law with her and the kids.

Grandma

That’s Kathy.  Or Cathy.  Or Kathie.  Or Kathi.  Or… well, I didn’t ask.  I think I’ll just call her Grandma, because that’s what KJ and DJ call her.  I know how to spell Grandma.

Take a good look at her smile.  She told me she had new false teeth, and she wanted to make sure I got them in the photo.

And of course, DJ had to teach Grandma to play Nerts.Cards

Nerts isn’t the most exciting game when played with only two people, but they seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Oh, and the food?

Curry

It was amazing, of course.  Give me some curry and I’m in Heaven.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rita
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 11:15:56

    Great photos, Karen, and i like the shadowing (picnik.com?)
    I didn’t know about your weekly dog walking. Guess you’ll head lights, lanterns, flashlights or such.
    Looking forward to more food and fellowship tonight!

  2. Tracy
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 11:29:05

    I still haven’t tried anything with curry! It’s hard to eat Indian and thai food since I’m allergic to nuts. But it sounds heavenly!

    • Karen, the Small Town Runner
      Nov 16, 2009 @ 11:31:30

      Oh, you don’t need nuts to make wonderful curry! I’ll try to post a good curry recipe in the next couple of weeks. Hubby’s chicken coconut curry is the best! (Are you allergic to coconut, too?)

  3. Talley Mac
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 23:32:36

    U and Curry. SOme things never change!!! :^D

    You make me crack!

