Recipe for Butternut Soup

I have been so incredibly busy lately!  Working, raking leaves, sweeping up all the leaves the dogs bring into the house, Monday Meals, and our Financial Peace University class — not to mention trying to get through Gone With the Wind (I’m on page 419 of 733, and boy, Scarlett is not a very likeable person right now!) — all these things have kept me from writing good posts and taking good pictures.

So, I admit, I’m kind of taking the easy way out today.  But I think you’ll like it anyway, because I am posting Chef’s recipe for my very favorite soup.  I’m in heaven when he makes this soup.  And when he makes curry.  And lots of other things… but I really really like this soup.  I posted about it a few Monday Meals ago, but didn’t provide the full recipe.  But today is your lucky day.  Here is the recipe for creamy, heavenly goodness:

Chef’s Butternut Squash Soup

5-6 leeks, sliced thinly (only the white part)

2 butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and cut into bite-sized pieces

apx. 3 cups vegetable stock (chicken stock can be substituted)

fresh ginger, minced (you could probably use ginger paste, too, but either of these is going to be a lot better than ginger powder)

jalepeno pepper, minced

brown sugar, if desired

1-2 cups heavy cream

salt to taste

Heat oil in a saucepot, and saute the leeks.  Add the squash and vegetable stock and simmer about half an hour.  Add the ginger and jalepeno.  (I know, there’s no quantity on the ginger.  We love ginger, so we use a lot.  It does have a bit of a kick to it, though.  This is probably something you’ll have to experiment with.)  When the squash is tender, puree the mixture.  (You could use a food processer for this.   We might do that if we hadn’t lost it.  (How in the world do you lose a food processor? I’m convinced it’s with my pink sports bra and our Bundt pan, which are also inexplicably missing.)  Chef uses a hand blender, which I think is also called a wand blender.  It does the job pretty well.  Sometimes there are still chunks left in the soup, but since the squash is so tender, it’s not a huge deal.)

Taste the soup.  The sweetness of the soup depends on the squash you have.  Some squash are really sweet and some aren’t so much.  If you want it sweeter, add some brown sugar.

Finish the soup with heavy cream.  To do this, remember to temper the cream.  Add some of the hot soup to the cream and stir it; then add that mixture into the soup.  This keeps the cream from curdling.  (I think.  I just know you’re supposed to do it.)

Add salt to taste.

This soup is especially good with some warm, salty, herby bread.

Enjoy!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 14:41:45

    Sounds delicious! I have a butternut squash in the fridge, too. I should use it to make this!

  2. rita
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 14:48:47

    Great to have that recipe and directions.
    I’m convinced there is a hole in the universe, or were those hints for Christmas gifts…hmmmmm…

  3. April
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 17:45:31

    Oh, yes. I too had a squash in the fridge, so I tried it. Absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing.

